Peggy M. (ladywing) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
The Bonesetter's Daughter
The Bonesetter's Daughter
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/21/2010


This was an interesting story of generations, family secrets and relationships. A very enjoyable read.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3516
Review Date: 6/25/2010


Yes, I read the series. The story line is good, but it really is written for a young teen audience, not an adult audience. The writing is lacking (if I had to read one more time about Edward's "marble skin" ...) in more ways than one and the story is in part the only thing that kept me moving through. For the size of the books, they should be meatier in the story department though.

Very quick reads and enjoyable story line. Definitely not "great works of fiction" though.


Crossed: A Tale of the Fourth Crusade
Crossed: A Tale of the Fourth Crusade
Author: Nicole Galland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/31/2011


This book could have been broken into 3-4 separate stories. As a whole, it took twists & turns & then twisted again, sometimes making it difficult to tell who was crossing who. I think it could have been condensed and told the same story more effectively.


Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10 / True Blood)
Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10 / True Blood)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 4/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


as a continuation of the series, this series is more about reading a "day in the life" than solving any mystery or anything of that nature. The series is reminding me of the older books of a similar vein. This was a fast, enjoyable read.


Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1884
Review Date: 7/11/2010


Reading the Sookie stories is pure FUN!


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 9/6/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book was a very slooooow read. It took forever to get thru. I'm not sure if it was boring or just a disappointment. There was nothing that made me want to sit down and just read from cover to cover but actually made me wonder WHY in the world I was reading it in the first place. I'd heard such good things about it so it became a major disappointment. I really wish I'd read the other reviews before requesting this book.


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1047
Review Date: 1/23/2013


I wish I'd read the mix of reviews before reading this book. I am not yet finished & currently debate whether to finish or not (probably will just to see if it maybe DOES improve but not sure I have the time to waste). I really picked it up more because of the buzz than anything else. This book doesn't deserve the buzz.

As noted by a few others, it rivals Twilight for it's poor writing, repeated phrases ("my inner godess" might make me puke if I hear it again) and lack of imagination. I've read a lot of "erotica" in the form of romance novels over the years and most of those were better than this.

I was incredibly disappointed in the relationship that develops between Christian and Ana that glorifies control issues that some people have. I "get" that some relationships in the bedroom do use this as their "fun" but when it leaves "the bedroom," it becomes abusive. I don't see good fiction as glorifying an abusive relationship.

This is the only reason I might finish - to see if Ana figures out that her naivete has put herself into an abusive relationship because she doesn't know any better. I'm assuming though with 2 more books, it's unlikely that Ana will figure out how she's been used.


Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe
Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe
Author: Nancy Goldstone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/12/2011
Helpful Score: 2


While the book is a little slow going in order to get all the players in order, it shows a good picture of life in the middle ages for those who are titled. I think Goldstone does a nice job of showing the relationship between the four sisters. What I found most interesting was some insight into the politics of the period. My initial curiosity in the book was piqued when I had found the Berenger family in my family tree. The way we think of those in power now, versus the way they were in the middle ages is very much different even though there are some similarities too.


From Dead to Worse (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 8)
From Dead to Worse (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 8)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1344
Review Date: 7/11/2010


Each book makes me wanting more. This one was of all of them, a little flat though. I almost left with the feeling that this was more of a bridge to the next story rather than a story on its own.


How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else
Review Date: 5/22/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This book was wonderful! I truly feel that there are more people who really need to learn the lessons that *having* everything isn't *everything.* That you need to stop and respect the people are you to have that same respect returned and having the high paying career doesn't necessarily bring happiness!


Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane Grey
Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane Grey
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 5/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


In many of the books I've read, the relationship of Lady Jane to the Princesses Mary and Elizabeth is really not as clear as it is here. There is a real sense in the book of how Jane is only a pawn in the greater scheme of the religious issues of the time, which is truly unfortunate. While fictionalized to some degree, the historical story is well told.


It Starts with Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways
Review Date: 10/8/2012
Helpful Score: 5


This book is a fairly easy read and yet gets the science behind food and how we react with it across. Allowing the reader to determine what does/doesn't work for them is part of the authors' "Whole 30" program. The idea is to find out what does cause problems for you personally and not look at it as a one size fits all program.

Knowledge of how food affects us is power. Knowing what the food industry can do is even more powerful. Without this knowledge, we have no one but ourselves to blame for many of our health problems.

Having read Jillian Michael's book on metabolism, I left feeling that I had to eat this, that & the other thing and was thoroughly confused. This book clears up any confusion that I had.


Love Bites (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 2)
Love Bites (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 2)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 311
Review Date: 3/12/2011


although a little predictable, this was a fun read.


Master Your Metabolism: The 3 Diet Secrets to Naturally Balancing Your Hormones for a Hot and Healthy Body!
Review Date: 7/16/2012


Jillian goes into a LOT of detail about what eat hormone does & doesn't do as well as how it is affected, what foods are good/bad to help increase/reduce the hormone.

She provides an "eat this" to do that with each one also. I began to feel that if I ate everything she recommended, I'd be 300 lbs and gaining! Unfortunately, I don't think she really covered sugars and grains as far as other things they do to our system. I think if you are looking to fully understand how our food intake affects us and work on "fixing" your hormones and your health, Dallas & Melissa Hartwig's "It Starts with Food" may be a better starting point. It's written more for the average person in a common sense method.

While Jillian's book is incredibly detailed and a good reference, it can be overwhelming.


Mistress of the Monarchy: The Life of Katherine Swynford, Duchess of Lancaster
Review Date: 7/11/2012


Weird does a great job of separating fact from fiction. From an ancestral viewpoint, her final notes on who descends in our current time from Katherine is interesting in itself. It reminds us that heritage crosses all lines. A very good historical read for those who may not need fiction mixed in.


My Cousin Rachel
My Cousin Rachel
Author: Daphne du Maurier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


while it took a bit to get "into" the book, it was an enjoyable read, albeit the ending was just a tad disappointing.


Pope Joan
Pope Joan
Author: Donna Woolfolk Cross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 378
Review Date: 4/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


What I really enjoyed in this book is the feel you get for 9th century life. It's view of the Christian Church at that time and how positions within the church were politically bought and sold is also a good reminder of of how much corruption existed at the time.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3395
Review Date: 2/19/2010


While the book was a little slow to move along to start, it was a very engaging story.


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1455
Review Date: 6/7/2010


I read this book in a few days while on vacation - it was very engrossing in wanting to fit the pieces of the puzzle together on how the lives entwined. Wonderful but sad story.


The Secret Eleanor
The Secret Eleanor
Author: Cecelia Holland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


It's a good story, whether more fiction than history, I'm not sure.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: