Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Crystal D. (crysd) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Breakfast of Champions
Breakfast of Champions
Author: Kurt Vonnegut
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 7/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Breakfast of Champions was the first book by Kurt Vonnegut that I read, and I was hooked. It takes a while to get used to his writing style, especially since he starts off very light while jumping around in the different characters' lives. I like Vonnegut's unconventional writing, but sometimes I feel his message may get lost in what is purely honest writing.

If you look past Vonnegut's social introductory commentary in BOF you will find meaningful stories about the type of people that are so often ignored, and he teaches you not only compassion for their lifestyles & thoughts, but also gives you a new perspective and comedy.

Specifically, there is a moment in the book where Vonnegut has his characters talk about an abstract painting. Being an artist who has often disliked abstract art I found the dialogue life changing because the artist in the book taught me as a reader to see something more.


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1968
Review Date: 2/26/2007


Great classic!


The House of the Spirits
The House of the Spirits
Author: Isabel Allende, Magda Bogin (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 1/15/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had to read this book for an English course - I was only about a quarter of the way through before the semester ended, but I made sure to finish it. The story is very extensive and has a great amount of history within it but also some magical realism. There are hard parts to swallow as it can be graphic at times, but it is only ever in a matter of fact way and just completely honest. House of Spirits is a great read about the struggle of women and life in other cultures.


La Casa de los Esp?ritus
La Casa de los Esp?ritus
Author: Isabel Allende
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/15/2008


I had to read this book for an English course - I was only about a quarter of the way through before the semester ended, but I made sure to finish it. The story is very extensive and has a great amount of history within it but also some magical realism. There are hard parts to swallow as it can be graphic at times, but it is only ever in a matter of fact way and just completely honest. House of Spirits is a great read about the struggle of women and life in other cultures.


Love by Design: Loving Jack / Best Laid Plans (Jack's Story, Bks 1-2)
Love by Design: Loving Jack / Best Laid Plans (Jack's Story, Bks 1-2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great set of two stories written by the awesome Nora Roberts. I love the characters in this piece, they are strongly written despite the smaller length of the novels.


Memnoch the Devil (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 5)
Memnoch the Devil (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 5)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 551
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book, really different from many of Rice's others in the series. I am not a fan of hers, but this one was beautiful. I felt that it changed my perspective of life and religion in many ways. It really is a philosophical piece.


Pere Goriot (Signet Classics)
Pere Goriot (Signet Classics)
Author: Honore de Balzac
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/15/2008


Pere Goriot is an at times tedious read but is one that will keep you pulled in until the last minute. Balzac is full of details and describes every aspect of most settings and characters so much that you feel as if you have known them for years. I love when writers do this, even if it can drag on a bit. The story is about fatherly love that is lacking or found in others, and the way that society can corrupt us and drain our lives. We see greed, romantic love, fatherly love, deceit, and so many other qualities of the battles to be a part of the aristocratic Paris life. I found myself crying many times but also completely understanding of the characters portrayed. You love to despise them.


Public Secrets
Public Secrets
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 329
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This is the book that made me a huge fan of Nora Roberts. I love it so much. In this book, you really get to know the characters and experience a near life time with them, which is something I enjoy as a reader. You meet the main characters when they meet each other - at a young age. Then again when they're teenagers, young adults, and so on.

Even the villain isn't revealed quickly. You feel Emma's pain as she goes through life holding on to the tragedy, struggles to understand herself, falls in and out of love with different people, and her relationship with her rock star and somewhat dysfunctional parents.

This was the first Nora Roberts that I read, and I have since always looked for that similar style in all her books - those that have a history of life told in them, some murder, and plenty of romance. I was hooked.


Slaughterhouse-Five
Slaughterhouse-Five
Author: Kurt Vonnegut
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 7/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Slaughterhouse-Five was a thrilling read for me. As someone who is not a fan of historic war stories, Vonnegut does it in a style that is almost sci-fi and makes for a very interesting, humorous, vivid, and heart wrenching read.

The nonlinear storyline follows Bill Pilgrim has a poorly trained and misfitted soldier who bounces between the past and the present. Traveling in his mind(?) between the war in Dresden and to a time where he is kidnapped by aliens and made into an exhibit.

The book made me feel as if I truly followed Pilgrim to each of these places. I felt awkward with him, frightened, and grieved for him. The best part of the book is that Vonnegut includes himself & his alter ego into the story line, and it provides another element of intrigue for the reader.


The Sons (Schocken Kafka Library)
The Sons (Schocken Kafka Library)
Author: Franz Kafka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If read with an open mind and a close eye, these stories by Kafka can be utterly life changing. I had to read a few for a class of mine and I was absolutely amazed by all the possible undertones and hidden meanings. Kafka bares his soul to us through his stories and I absolutely love it.


Tribute
Tribute
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 7/16/2011


Tribute was enjoyable because it felt modern and quirky. I love that the main male character is "dorky" and writes comic books, definitely a change! Cilla, the lead character, is a childhood actress who is now flipping the house of her dead grandmother. There is mix of mystery, sadness, family relations, and love all in this book. I felt it dragged on a little at times with certain aspects, and the ending wrapped up too quickly & easily in my opinion.


1 to 11 of 11
Want fewer ads?