Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Paul P. (lucubrare) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
150 Best of the Best Loft Ideas
150 Best of the Best Loft Ideas
Author: Inc. LOFT Publications
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/27/2020


This book left me disappointed. I was 150 pages into it before I found a loft that I could say "I really like that." Most of the selections are based on furniture and decoration than the design of the lofts.
All in all, there are some good ideas here, but not the focus that I expected.


The 267 Stupidest Things Republicans Ever Said/ The 267 Stupidest Things Democrats Ever Said
Review Date: 9/15/2009


Quite funny... and completely bi-partisan!
I had quite the laughs with this little gem, and it tackled both dems and reps, with a non-judgmental style that left me wanting for more.


Ahab's Wife : Or, The Star-gazer
Ahab's Wife : Or, The Star-gazer
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 12/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was all at once fascinating and yet very frustrating. The story of Una is one of a life fully lived. However, the characters seem to get stuck periodically in their own thoughts and reflections for too long, in language too poetic and elaborate for my attention span, using 10 words when 5 would do.

Having said that, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and recommend it heartily.

Please note that English is not my first language, and I don't like Shakespeare for the same reason as above.


Calligraphy of the Witch
Calligraphy of the Witch
Author: Alicia Gaspar de Alba
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/27/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A wonderful book telling the story of a latina woman in 17th century Massachussets, at the time of the Salem Witch Trials. The historical detail is very well written, and the protagonist is a heroine taking on the religious establishment.

For bi-lingual spanish speakers, the details in Spanish are a dear touch. For non-spanish speakers, the author makes it very comprehensible.

All in all, a wonderful read. 5 stars.


Death and the Maiden (Mistress of the Art of Death, Bk 5)
Review Date: 1/14/2021


Annoyingly sesquipedalian. All in all, I was disappointed by this book. The start is very much Ariana Franklin, except for the consistent use of unnecessarily obscure words. In the previous four books, I was happy to learn new words and look up what I didn't get. In this book, that need to look up stuff got in the way of reading the book.

The ending was predictable and felt like the author was happily writing along and all of a sudden realized that she was up against and deadline, and just clubbed the ending together in a rush.


Delay, Deny, Defend: Why Insurance Companies Don't Pay Claim and What You Can Do About It
Review Date: 11/29/2011


This book made me very mad and gave me great insight all at the same time. It's a really good book, although some times a tad dense. Lots of information, with a good closing "what you can do" section. Recommended reading for anyone, especially our state officials.


Freedom (Audio CD) (Unabeidged)
Freedom (Audio CD) (Unabeidged)
Author: Jonathan Franzen, David Ledoux (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/26/2016


This [audio]book is like 6 rounds of "Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf." These must be the most miserable 6 people in the planet, and the book is insufferable due to these unlikeable characters going on and on. I just had to hold on to see if at the end, there was closure and/or resolution. On a positive side, the narrator does a great job. Excellent cadence, and volume control.


Good In Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 5/28/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this audiobook. The story is plausible, the main character totally likable. And is very well written. I could totally relate to the protagonist, and sympathize with her. All in all, I really enjoyed this story.


Just Plain Folks
Just Plain Folks
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/19/2014


I love this audiobook. I love the stories, and the familiarity with which Ms. Johnson-Coleman draws us in, as if we were her family. I can imagine being a child, as Aunt Lorraine told us the stories. Some funny, some sad, some will make you angry, some will make you think. All in all, a delightful time.


The Manny (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Manny (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Holly Peterson, Karen Ziemba (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/28/2011


Thoroughly enjoyable. This audiobook made me spend quite a few extra minutes in the driveway just so that I could listen to the end of the chapter. It's the audio equivalent of "I couldn't put it down."


The Memory Keeper's Daughter (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 7/18/2017


I listened to the abridged audiobook of this novel, and I think it should have been abridged again.

Reminiscent of Ayn Rand, this story is fraught with interminable ruminations of guilt, regrets, bad decisions, and memories, with so many unnecessary details that makes you wish that they would just get to the point.

This could have been a great story, and were it not for my curiosity as to how it ended, I would have abandoned it much earlier. The ending was not completely disappointing, but there was so much middle to get through.


Moon Over Manifest
Moon Over Manifest
Author: Clare Vanderpool
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/24/2017


I loved this book. The story is enthralling, the characters and setting lovely, and the performance is perfect. The voice actors match one's idea of each character perfectly, and the narrator's voice is pleasant and her cadence is just right. I loved this book, and I couldn't wait to get to the last CD just to see how the story would end. And it had a perfect ending. All in all, a most enjoyable audiobook.


Our Lady of the Lost and Found
Our Lady of the Lost and Found
Author: Diane Schoemperlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 3/22/2010


This is a delightful book. After a hard day, this is a refreshing book to come to. Not preachy at all, it reinforces the beauty of Mary in a very real-person way. I'm not a catholic, I'm not a christian, and yet, I found this book a very pleasant and enjoyable read. For those who are Marians, this should be a must-read.


Prison Ship: Adventures of a Young Sailor
Prison Ship: Adventures of a Young Sailor
Author: Paul Dowswell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/26/2010


Delightful little book. I can't wait to share it with my 13-year old nephew.


The Ruins (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Ruins (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Scott Smith, Patrick Wilson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/8/2015


I was very disappointed by this book. What would have been a great short story was made into an interminable diatribe. I thought about abandoning the book, but I had to know how it ended. So I stuck until the end, and then wished I hadn't.


The Secret Tunnel (Mitch Mitchell, Bk 2)
The Secret Tunnel (Mitch Mitchell, Bk 2)
Author: James Lear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/12/2020


This is a great book. It's light, and yet, very interesting. The characters are likable, even the villain, the plot is straight-forward and well developed, and the erotica is hot without being smut. I'm now looking for all other Mitch Mitchell books. Can't wait to see what he's up to next!


Sorceress (Witch Child, Bk 2)
Sorceress (Witch Child, Bk 2)
Author: Celia Rees
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 12/8/2009


This book is a welcome conclusion to the first, "Witch Child." In the first book, we are left at the "end" of the story of Mary, as her journal ends when she is basically charged as a Witch, which would probably mean her death. Sorceress provides all the details of Mary's life, right to her death at old age. Written in Ms. Rees' now-familiar style, it is a quick read, very very interesting not only for her instruction on the ways of the Natives peoples of the U.S., but for all the adventures that Mary encounters among them. Excellent book.


Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/21/2015


I love David Sedaris' stuff, and have enjoyed since since about 2000, when I was a young man. However, this is one strange little book. Did not like it at all.

I listened to the audiobook, and the first voice is that of Elaine Stritch, which I did not realize. My first thought was "Wow, he sounds awful!" - until I realized it was not him. I got through one full CD, and stopped. Couldn't stand it any more.


Telegraph Days (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Telegraph Days (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Larry McMurtry, Annie Potts (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/26/2017


I loved this book! The writing is delightful, witty, at times solemn; the main character is very likeable and her environment is made so real. The story is warm, well written, and unpretentious. Made me laugh out loud several times.

Specific to the audiobook, Annie Potts is a wonderful narrator for the character. I think she did a superb job. And the design and engineering of the CDs is also very well done. Very easy to listen to in the car.

Bottom line, 5 stars. A+.


1 to 19 of 19
Want fewer ads?