Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Marcia S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion
The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 6/15/2018


Fannie Flagg is some kind of writer. Such an interesting story line, the characters are unique and well rounded people. You just need to read it for yourself.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 796
Review Date: 1/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


There aren't that many books that I could read and re-read but this is one of them. Frank McCourts account of his family could be told by thousands of people who had lives such as this. Prepare your emotions they will go in all directions.
So good.


Angels Flight (Harry Bosch, Bk 6)
Angels Flight (Harry Bosch, Bk 6)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/14/2013


Love Harry Bosch. He's like a bulldog who won't let go til he's figured everything out.


At Close of Day
At Close of Day
Author: Joseph Bentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/16/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I call this a low key kind of story. Not a build up to a big moment. Which is not a bad thing. You are enticed to see what comes next. The reader is able to see this families situation directly from each individual. Mr Bentz created such different personalities in the siblings and you see how they fit together. I really liked his format of writing.


Baker Towers
Baker Towers
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 12/27/2014


Jennifer Haigh sweeps you along effortlessly through time and connects characters, some of which only have being blood relatives, in common. She tells of each separate family members story which go off in all different directions , yet are rooted in one small community. It is thought provoking and you easily care deeply for these people.
Highly recommend.


The Battle Belongs to the Lord: Overcoming Life's Struggles Through Worship
Review Date: 8/29/2020


Joyce Meyer is a literal GOD send. I've never learned more about being a Christian. I would have loved to have learned from Joyce from childhood. There is no more confusion. She is loving in her messages and firm in the way she explains what kind of person to be. She does not let anyone use excuses. She is anointed by GOD and a powerful woman. I keep several of her books all around the house and use them on a daily basis.


Bayou
Bayou
Author: Pamela Jekel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/27/2022


I enjoyed this book so much. It' epic. Travels generations and there is not a boring moment in it. I highly recommend it.


Before She Was Found
Before She Was Found
Author: Heather Gudenkauf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/20/2023


I call this book many faceted. There were a lot of elements of family life, concerns, parents, relatives, upbringing. I don't like to explain what the book is about because you can get that on the cover. It kept my interest all the way through. You try to unravel it as you go. Really like Heather Gudenkauf's writing.


Before We Were Yours
Before We Were Yours
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 3/10/2022


This book is based on thousands of true stories. It's one story that spans a lifetime and it is hard to put down and go to sleep. It compels you to want to know more.


Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 1/14/2013


My husband and I love Greg Iles. The book is 700 some pages and I didn't want it to end.


Bloodstream
Bloodstream
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 307
Review Date: 9/25/2018


I just finished it today. (9-25-2018) I really liked it . Not the usual plot line. Enjoy Tess Gerritsen.
The only downside is the cover of the book I have. It has a pic of the back of a nude woman. It ticked me off. Has nothing to do with book.


The Blue Orchard
The Blue Orchard
Author: Jackson Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/25/2017
Helpful Score: 2


The cover of the book and the name evoked a particular time period and maybe a type of story line. The time period was right but the story was so far from what I could have guessed.
It is so interesting. So unique. The places this woman's life went from childhood into mature adulthood make you want to keep rooting for her. It's not frilly or cute, but very serious but not to where you cry.
This might be confusing, but I don't want to give any of the story away. I hate when people tell you the whole story line in a review. It is worth reading. Thought provoking.


A Box of Darkness: The Story of a Marriage
A Box of Darkness: The Story of a Marriage
Author: Sally Ryder Brady
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/16/2020


They have a life experience very different from my own so in that way it was interesting. Easy read and moves without slow sections.


Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Can't Wait to Get to Heaven
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 8/9/2022


Fannie Flagg never disappoints. Her characters are always unique and not in an unbelievable way. It's a comedy that has a great pace and doesn't let you down. And it's very poignant, gets you thinking about people in your life.


The Carriage House (Carriage House, Bk 1)
The Carriage House (Carriage House, Bk 1)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/31/2020


This was a quick read. A bit of a mystery. Not too scary. Description of places and people were great.


Copy Cat (Kitt Lundgren, Bk 1)
Copy Cat (Kitt Lundgren, Bk 1)
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 4/11/2023


Oh my gosh. There was so much going on between characters while the main story was fast paced and exciting. Not confusing.
I felt as though I should be tired after reading some of the chapters. Of course very well written.


The Dollhouse
The Dollhouse
Author: Fiona Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/5/2019


Oh. I loved this book. Fiona Davis is fantastic at melding two different time periods seamlessly. Can't wait to read her other books. I'm on a waiting list.


The Education of Dixie Dupree
The Education of Dixie Dupree
Author: Donna Everhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/2/2022


Dixie's life is full of serious challenges. A few instances it seems she overcomes them very simply, but I was pulled in right from the beginning. She is fearless. She is compelled to try to find answers. Despite the heavy situations, I love that she just kept moving forward. It was very well written.


Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Author: Gail Honeyman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 4/4/2021


Great story. You really don't know what is going to happen. There are so many options the story could take. Interesting people. I'd recommend it.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 515
Review Date: 4/19/2016


Really liked the book. Different countries, different time periods. It's a mystery and you pick up pieces along the way. It could have wrapped up a bit quicker at the end, but I did enjoy it. The descriptions of time, people and places drew you right into the life with the families.


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: