Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Carrie M. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I read this book when my son was required to read it as a freshman in high school. I enjoyed it, it made me want to follow my personal journey. He also enjoy the book.


The Art of Mending : A Novel (Berg, Elizabeth  (Large Print))
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I read this book twice--which I seldom ever do. Berg seems to get inside the characters heads, and does a great job explaining their feelings.


Christmas Letters (Blossom Street) (Large Print)
Christmas Letters (Blossom Street) (Large Print)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I was expecting something like Christmas newsletters...not just the main character "K.O.'s" hobby. This is a book about finding love in an unexpected place. In my opinion, it was poorly written and very slow.


Covenant Child (Women of Faith, Bk 4)
Covenant Child (Women of Faith, Bk 4)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/12/2011


Good picture of how Christ loves us!


Divine
Divine
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 1/12/2011


LOVED THIS BOOK!


Drummer in the Dark (Wheeler Large Print Book Series (Cloth))
Drummer in the Dark (Wheeler Large Print Book Series (Cloth))
Author: T. Davis Bunn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/12/2011


Very complex subject matter to me, but I enjoyed this book. Well written, good plot, good character developement.


Drums, Girls, And Dangerous Pie
Drums, Girls, And Dangerous Pie
Author: Jordan Sonnenblick
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/12/2011


This book will make you laugh, and make you cry! I read it after my seventh grade son was assigned to read it for school....and sent it on to my 45-year-old brother and 65-year-old mother, all of whom loved it!


Fame (Firstborn, Bk 1)
Fame (Firstborn, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 1/12/2011
Helpful Score: 5


I could hardly put this book down! Glad to see it is a series...excellent character developement....just enough to get you interested in supporting characters and waiting for the next book to be released!


House Rules
House Rules
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 357
Review Date: 1/12/2011


As is typical in some of the books I have read by Picoult, she gives each character a chapter from their own perspective. It was interesting, but LONG! I had it figured out early in the book.


The Legend of Spookley the Square Pumpkin
The Legend of Spookley the Square Pumpkin
Author: Joe Troiano, Susan Banta (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/11/2011


Such a cute book! It teaches kids that it is ok to be different, sometimes it is even helpful.


One Thing You Can't Do in Heaven
One Thing You Can't Do in Heaven
Author: Mark Cahill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/27/2011


Wow! I have become an evangelizing fool since reading this book. It is our calling as Christians to spread the Word...in season, out of season.


A Place Called Morning (G K Hall Large Print Inspirational Series)
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I read Things we Once Held Dear by Tatlock first..big mistake. That book was slow, poorly written and predictable. Yet, something drew me into reading another one of her books, and I actually enjoyed A Place Called Morning. A sad book, so have some tissues near. Yet, forgiveness--not just recieved from someone else, but the kind you have to give yourself is greatly portrayed in this book.


The Preacher's Daughter (Annie's People, Bk 1) (Large Print)
The Preacher's Daughter (Annie's People, Bk 1) (Large Print)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/12/2011


Excellent book! The beginning of this trilogy will capture your heart as Lewis paints a sad picture of a young shunned amish woman.


Range of Motion
Range of Motion
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I have read Berg before, and loved. This book was saddening. A father and husband has ice fall on his head and thus pushing him into a coma for 4-5 months. The wife, Lainey, starts to see the enchanting ghost of a woman living in the 1940's in her home. The ghost helps pull Lainey through the difficult time in her life. Berg doesn't develop supporting characters well in this book, but the story is an easy read.


The Reluctant Prophet A Two-in-one Volume Of The Warning And The Ultimatum
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I have only read the first book, The Warning. I did enjoy it...it was believable. I would love to think that God sometimes speaks to people. Not like any other books I had ever read, and it kept me interested. Seems like Bunn sticks with what he knows, I have read a few of his books and always learn something new.


Seasons Under Heaven (Times and Seasons, Bk 1 (Large Print)
Review Date: 1/12/2011


Thoroughly enjoyed reading this one--glad to hear it is a series. I got invested in each character in this book and couldn't wait to read more!I love the mix of women in the book.


The Tea Rose (Rose, Bk 1)
The Tea Rose (Rose, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 1/12/2011


This is an absolutely excellent read! Lots of pages, but HARD to put down. It had all the elements of an awesome novel--a love story, crime, historical, woman liberation. Riveting. Inspirational.


A Time to Dance (Women of Faith Fiction, Bk. 1)
A Time to Dance (Women of Faith Fiction, Bk. 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/12/2011


This story touches you on how God can soften your heart and save a marriage if you are open to it.


The Truth about Forever
The Truth about Forever
Author: Sarah Dessen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 2/17/2011


A great read. Light reading, kept me interested, but didn't keep me from getting my "chores" done. Even though it was easy to put down, the author did a fine job in showing the different ways of grief. I had a knot in my throat when Macy hides away the gadgets in the attic so her Mom wouldn't throw them away.


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1041
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I could hardly put this book down--and subsequently read all four books in the series in rapid fire. I am not a "vampire" believer/reader. These books were great though!


1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Want fewer ads?