Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Wendy B. (nativewolf) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Anyone But You (Harlequin Love & Laughter, No 4)
Anyone But You (Harlequin Love & Laughter, No 4)
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 6/11/2009


I wasn't really sure about this book when I picked it up. Recently I had some bad experiences with stories that involved animals with them being just pointless and dull. That was not the case with this book. Nina and Alex had great chemistry and it was a refreshing change to have a romance story where the characters were not Barbie doll perfect. The secondary characters were wonderful as well. In fact, I would love for Max to have his own story. Then, of course, there is Fred. I just fell in love with him...lol. This is a very easy read (I finished it in a couple of hours) but you will not be sorry that you picked up this book.


Beyond the Body Farm (Larger Print)
Beyond the Body Farm (Larger Print)
Author: Bill Bass, Jon Jefferson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/4/2009


For anyone who is fascinated by forensics, this book is for you.


Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 903
Review Date: 6/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a nice follow up to Moon Called. We get to experience more of the characters that were introduced in the first book and learn more about not only Mercy but also Adam, Stefan, Zee, as well as many others. Not only do we learn more about these fascinating characters but we also learn more about the complex world and infrastructure of the pack and the vampire seethe. It is a hard book to put down and I am eagerly looking forward to the third book in this installment.


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1426
Review Date: 6/22/2009


This book was amazing!! I was captivated from the very beginning. Wrath is just hot!! I hope that the rest of the books in the series are as great at this one was. I 100% recommend this book.


The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 2)
The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 2)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 691
Review Date: 7/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I started the second book in the Lords of the Underworld series with some reluctance. I had recently read some bad reviews. I am really glad that I stuck to my philosophy of "make your own decision". I really enjoyed this book. As with Maddox from the first book, Lucien is a He-man, protect my woman despite everything, type of guy. Before the testosterone overtakes the reader though, Anya interjects some strong female, not taking your crap, situations. Anya's antics and teasing make Lucien, who houses the demon of Death, seem almost vulnerable and humanized. All in all, it was a great book that kept me reading long into the hours of the night.


The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 909
Review Date: 6/22/2009


This book was hot! It was nice to have a story that was a little different than the average were, fae, or vampire story. I could not put this book down.


Dead Girls Are Easy (Nicki Styx, Bk 1)
Dead Girls Are Easy (Nicki Styx, Bk 1)
Author: Terri Garey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 8/20/2009


This book was a lot of fun! The characters were funny and witty and the storyline was interesting. I would definitely recommend it. I am looking forward to the next two books in the series.


Demons Are a Ghoul's Best Friend (Ghost Hunter, Bk 2)
Demons Are a Ghoul's Best Friend (Ghost Hunter, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 9/29/2009


"What's a Ghoul To Do?" the first in the Ghost Hunter series was a really good book but this one just blew me away. This little mystery/ghost story had me on the edge of my seat. I just could not put this book down waiting to find out the story behind Hatchet Jack. I can't wait to read the third book in this installment. In fact, I have added all of Victoria Laurie's books to my Wish List. Don't let the cutesy cover fool you, this is a great book!


For the Roses
For the Roses
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


What a wonderful story about the true meaning of "family". Four young boys find a baby in the trash in New York City so they decide to head west and raise her to be a "proper" young lady. The underlying love throughout this book is a wonderful change of pace. It just goes to show you that you don't have to be blood related to have a family. I recommend this book highly.


Forgotten (FBI, Bk 4)
Forgotten (FBI, Bk 4)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 10/5/2009


What a great story. I was kept guessing all of the way to the end. I have now added Mariah Stewart's other books to my list.


Jackson Rule
Jackson Rule
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 7/30/2009


First of all, let me start by saying...Oh my!! This is a fantastic story. Jackson is the kind of man all women dream about and Rebecca is a headstrong and feisty woman. This book kept me turning the pages in anticipation. The build up and sparks between these two characters jumped off the pages. The underlying story of not to judge a person until you have walked in their shoes was humbling and one that I will remember. Even though you can guess the ending of the story, the ride is well worth the time. I highly recommend this book.


Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed, Bk 2)
Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed, Bk 2)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 630
Review Date: 8/18/2009


This is the second book in the series. This time the story focuses on Tess and Dante. I found that when I sat down to read it, I had a hard time putting the book down. However, there were times that the story seemed rushed. It gave us a lot of information (probably set ups for future stories) and at times did not truly focus on Dante and Tess. I would have truly enjoyed learning more about these characters. Having said that, the book was still very good and was well worth the time spent reading it. I am looking forward to the third book in the series with Tegan.


Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 723
Review Date: 8/7/2009


When I first started this book, I read about 50 pages and then put it down. For some reason, it was not grabbing my attention but since I have all of the books in the series I decided to push on and pick it back up. I am really glad that I did. I truly enjoyed Lucan and Gabrielle's story. Lucan's constant fight against the Bloodlust kept me turning pages to see his strength and determination to pull through it. Of course, let's not forget the power of love...lol I can't wait to read the others!


A Knight in Shining Armor (Montgomery, Bk 16)
A Knight in Shining Armor (Montgomery, Bk 16)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 7/10/2009


This is one that will always have a place on my bookshelf. It is a wonderful time travel romance that really makes you believe that such things are possible. If you believe, or just love the concept, that love will find you no matter what, then this book is for you. I highly recommend it.


Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Sheehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 496
Review Date: 8/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful story on the power that animals have to heal our hearts after a loss. There were many wonderful parts to this story and I found myself reading it very quickly. I just could not put it down. I definitely recommend it.


A Moment in Time
A Moment in Time
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 10/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I read this book years ago and just had to purchase it again. It is a story of undying love and magic. The imagery and the endless possibilities that this book represents will keep you turning the pages. Sorry folks, this one will stay on my bookshelf! If you have the opportunity to read this story, I highly recommend doing so.


Moon Called (Mercy Thompson, Bk 1)
Moon Called (Mercy Thompson, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1180
Review Date: 6/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


As with many people in today's busy society I do not always have the time to indulge in my favorite pasttime. Generally, I get to read a few pages here and there. Not so with Moon Called. I found myself curled up in a corner of a couch, eagerly turning pages, and baring my teeth to anyone who disturbed me. This book captivates you from the first page and before you realize it, you are turning the last one. The characters are intriguing and very well thought out, especially Mercy. It was refreshing to read about a strong female in a very dominant, pack oriented group of males. I am eagerly looking forward to starting the next book in the series. Do not pass this book by. It is absolutely worth the time.


Naughty Neighbor
Naughty Neighbor
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 7/27/2009


This is a laugh out loud story. I had my boyfriend questioning me every few pages to find out what it was that I was laughing at. Very cute and fast read.


Paint The Wind
Paint The Wind
Author: Cathy Cash Spellman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/10/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This is, by far, my favorite book. It tells the story of Fancy, Chance, and Hart. It is the "Gone With the Wind" for the Old West. I have never read a book that took me through such a wide range of emotions. I laughed, cried, got angry, sighed as the characters showed such immense love for one another, and demanded that justice be served. On the few occasions that I had to put the book down, I eagerly anticipated returning to it. I had read this book many years ago and have thought about it often over the years (how is that for making an impact on someone?). I have purchased my very own copy that I will never part with. If you are interested in a story that will touch you and make such an impact that you still think about that book ten years later, then this is the book for you. Find out for yourself, you won't be sorry.


Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
Author: Mary Roach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was absolutely fascinating. I could not put it down. I have always been interested in the human body before and after death. Mary Roach made this book very informative without feeling like you were reading a textbook. However, this book is not for the squeamish. My boyfriend very politely asked me to stop reading excerpts aloud to him...lol. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who has an interest in this subject.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Want fewer ads?