Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Tricia C. - Reviews

1 to 7 of 7
Cash : The Autobiography
Cash : The Autobiography
Author: Johnny Cash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Perviously I have reviewed Cash's first book, "Man in Black" (in hardcover). I was very much looking forward to the 2nd book, to see how his voice changed in the 20+ years between books.

In this book, Cash has more of a tendency to ramble, but it's a fun ramble. It's the ramble that I remember from talking with my Grandfather, tying in stories left and right, and never knowing what you are going to learn. He does repeat some of what was discussed in "Man in Black" - but not to the point where I was bored. (there was less than a month's time between reading the two books). Details remained the same, but he has realized more lessons since that book.

There isn't as much religion in this book like the last (and the last wasn't pushy or preachy either). He is still Christian, still very strong in his faith. But now he realizes he is much more human. Since the last book, he has relapsed - a couple of times. Believing in Jesus doesn't make the temptation go away. And he's learned that now.

Overall, I enjoyed this book as much as I did his first one. My only wish is that there was more information about the last part of his career - but that seems to have happened either while this book was in progress or right afterwards. I would love to know why he did a cover of a NIN song.


Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide)
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the latest PMBOK from PMI. This is the book that all exams from June 2009 forward are based upon (until they revise it again).

You must read this book to pass the CAPM and PMP exams. But not everything in the exam is covered in this book. It is definitely a dry read. I strongly suggest buying a guide or two to help.


A Guide To The Project Management Body Of Knowledge (PMBOK Guides)
Review Date: 7/21/2009


This book is out of date already. This is the 3rd edition, which has already been replaced by the 4th edition. All tests from June 2009 on are on the 4th edition.

As the other reviewer noted, this material is dry and boring. Yet it must be read and understood to pass the CAPM and PMP exams. But, not everything on the exam is covered in this book. (yes, that's very annoying, blame PMI.org)


Knit Two (Knitting Club, Bk 2) (Large Print)
Knit Two (Knitting Club, Bk 2) (Large Print)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A very good book about grieving - which is not what I had expected. If you haven't read the first book, skip this review.

Skip if you haven't read the first book.
At the end of the first book, Georgia dies and the book ends on a 1/2 happy note - folks are moving on, but have lost their best friend/mother/love of their life, etc.
This book is set 5 years in the future. And in many ways, the pain of the loss is still just as sharp 5 years later as it was just 5 days later. Which is so very true in real life as well.

There are all sorts of plots in this story, Dakota grows up, James learns to trust, Catherine grows up too, Anita isn't as perfect as you may think she is - etc etc etc. All the characters are here from the first book.

But the main theme of this book is all about dealing with grief. It was sometimes a bit overwhelming while reading it (I cry easily with books), it was fabulous that a book actually dealt with death 5 years later. Too often it seems that after a year passes even characters in books seem to "move on" too fast. That's not how it happens in real life, and I think this book did a good job of reflecting that.

If you want to learn more about dealing (or not dealing) with grief, if you want to see if Darwin has kids, if you want to know what happens with Lucie now that her baby is here, then read the book.

I'd also recommend this book to anyone who is friends with someone who is dealing with a deep, overwhelming grief. While the stories may not make any sense without the first book, you can still understand what is going on.


The Lost Books of Merlyn: Druid Magic from the Age of Arthur
The Lost Books of Merlyn: Druid Magic from the Age of Arthur
Author: Douglas Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/29/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Monroe has a documented history of "making stuff up". See the reviews for his "21 Lessons of Merlin" and do a search on the web before picking this one up. I wouldn't even call this good fiction.


Man In Black
Man In Black
Author: Johnny Cash
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


After watching the movie, Walk the Line, I was most interested to see how true the movie was to the real life of Johnny Cash. I do remember hearing on NPR when the movie came out that the producers/directors had long conversations with June and John, and that they stressed that the movie had to be honest - even about how their relationship started.

If you're looking for that type of honesty, it's not in here. That is not to say that the book lies, it just glosses over these bad parts. There is much in here that was not in the movie however. In this book, John constantly refers to his religion and Jesus. This was an aspect of his life that was not covered in much detail in the movie. I had no idea that John was so religious.

One thing that I did like about the book is the lack of preaching. Even with all the references to Jesus and Satan, I never felt that I was being lectured. I am not Christian and when I read a book with a religious slant, I find that the author usually is trying to recruit through the book. Which is a turn off. Not here - John just lays out his path, his trials and how he came back to Jesus. And how he still struggles every day with Satan.

I really did like this book and I'm looking forward to reading his 2nd biography which was written about 20 years later. When he wrote this book, he was in his 40's. It will be interesting to see how those additional 20 years or so add to his experiences of life.


Seductive Poison : A Jonestown Survivor's Story of Life and Death in the People's Temple
Review Date: 7/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


If you want to understand how brain washing can work, how cults can form, you should read this book. A fabulous insider's account about what happened at Jonestown, and the lessons we still have not learned (see Waco).


1 to 7 of 7
Want fewer ads?