Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Jennifer E. (virginiamom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Angel Christmas
Angel Christmas
Author: Mary Balogh, Marilyn Campbell, Carole Nelson Douglas, Emma Merritt, Patricia Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/27/2010


A varieity of stories, nice but not spectacular. They all have mysterious angels involved. I usually despise stories with a Western theme, but enjoyed the western one. "Tin Angel" was my personal favorite.


Berlin
Berlin
Author: Pierre Frei, Anthea Bell (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/10/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Another reviewer used the term "disturbingly convincing" and I would agree. This is a grim novel with its tale of Berliners in the pre and post-war era. It is for readers with strong stomachs, but then that was life in this era. Quite a good read. Right up there with Philip Kerr, and Alan Furst, though the author is of the WWII generation. One wonders what stories are his own memories in this novel.


Blackout (Oxford Time Travel, Bk 1)
Blackout (Oxford Time Travel, Bk 1)
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 10/8/2010


Great story, Is barely linked to other Willis time travel books, but you won't understand the time travel unless one has read the earlier titles. Some linked characters from the other books. So a few holes need clearing. Still, not a detriement to a very good story of England in WWII. There is a sequel to this title coming soon. I can hardly wait.


Borrowed Light (Borrowed Light, Bk 1)
Borrowed Light (Borrowed Light, Bk 1)
Author: Carla Kelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/5/2011
Helpful Score: 5


I love Carla Kelly books, and immediately ordered this one when it appeared on Amazon. I overlooked the unfamiliar publisher. I enjoyed the story. Kelly's characters in all her romances are human. In some ways strong, and in others ways growing. This book is no different, however the struggles are personal and the growth occurs in the souls of the hero and heroine. This book has a strong religious bent. It is aimed at an LDS reading public, and includes references to Mormon readings and traditions. Get past that and the story is one of growth in true Carla Kelly tradition.


Child 44 (Leo Demidov, Bk 1)
Child 44 (Leo Demidov, Bk 1)
Author: Tom Rob Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 5/16/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Excellent book. Really captures the bleakness of Russia (USSR) in the 30's and then in the 50s before Stalin dies. Favorably compares to Gorky Park and subsequent novels.


Dangerous Lover (Dangerous, Bk 1)
Dangerous Lover (Dangerous, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Marie Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 7/7/2011


Really sexy, but I'd agree with the other reviewers, abrupt ending, and not enough of a time frame for love to really develop. It can happen and it seems to. Will read the epilogue on the website.


The Fallen Angel (Gabriel Allon, Bk 12)
The Fallen Angel (Gabriel Allon, Bk 12)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/22/2013


As usual Silva does not disappoint, and justice is served.


From Anna's Kitchen: Plain and Fancy Vegetarian Menus (Penguin Cookery Library)
Review Date: 8/12/2013


I eagerly waited this book! Only when I finally "read" it I discovered it was an International version of the New Vegetarian Epicure. So if you like to prepare recipes using grams and liters this is the book for you!


The German Woman
The German Woman
Author: Paul Griner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/20/2012


Wow, a beautiful novel. Harsh depiction of war and the people it affects. Randomness can't count in war, and ulterior motives lurk everywhere. Except for Kate who often ends up in the wrong place at the wrong time, but maintains her sense of compassion and hope with everyone she meets.


Hannah's List (Blossom Street, Bk 7)
Hannah's List (Blossom Street, Bk 7)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 6/9/2011


She doesn't call it a Blossom Street Book so no knitting pattern. Still a lovely story and getting through grief.


Heresy (Giordano Bruno, Bk 1)
Heresy (Giordano Bruno, Bk 1)
Author: S. J. Parris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/6/2012


Really excellent mystery and thriller. Reminds me of Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose. There is much here that preaches of tolerance. The reality and tension of Oxford in 1583 really captured my attention.


The Homecoming (Thunder Point, Bk 6)
The Homecoming (Thunder Point, Bk 6)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 10/14/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is a NICE book about modern people carving out a life of love and happiness in the middle of what passes for normalcy in the new teens. As a subplot to the love story, Carr takes on an issue that often affect her audiences. This one is date abuse and even some spousal abuse. I've often thought that my romance novels offer me a chance of escape from my own hectic life. This novel hints at how to escape from abusive relationships. Very timely given the stories reaching us from the NFL.


How to Grill: The Complete Illustrated Book of Barbecue Techniques, A Barbecue Bible! Cookbook
Review Date: 5/27/2012


I pull this paperback book out every Summer. I need a new copy as it is falling apart. A test of a well-used tool.


An Irish Country Christmas (Irish Country, Bk 3)
An Irish Country Christmas (Irish Country, Bk 3)
Author: Patrick Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/27/2011


James Herriot and PG Wodehouse visit N. Ireland in the era before The Troubles. Nostalgic memories of a time I barely remember.


The Knitting Diaries: The Twenty-First Wish / Coming Unraveled / Home to Summer Island
Review Date: 5/3/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Great knitting stories. Authors bring to life the passion of knitting, and the emotional support and clarity the craft brings. I'm a knitter and can relate.
The Blossom Street tie-in ended a question mark from the other stories.
The Texas story of a failed attempt at life in the big city, and realizing the importance of home and family was nice.
The final story was also very touching with the hero an active duty soldier who must leave his pets with a recovering (wounded) knitter. There is such a thing as love at first sight.


The Lady and the Cit (Signet Regency Romance)
The Lady and the Cit (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Blair Bancroft
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/8/2013


Good book. The writer shows great potential. I will look for more of her work.


Legacy of the Dead (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 4)
Legacy of the Dead (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 4)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/12/2012


I'm lucky to read these in order and this one was the best yet. I do agree with the reviewer who said he ends things too soon. A little more tying up of loose-ends would be good, though it makes one rush on to the next title with some urgency.


The Marrying Game: A Novel
The Marrying Game: A Novel
Author: Kate Saunders
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/5/2014


The plot is perfect Regency. Four sisters strive to save the family manor that is beyond bankrupt. They have a charming neer do well father who has just offed himself, and they all cope with his death in different ways. They plot to head to London and make it in the social scene and marry well. Except, this is all very modern. So Regency novel, + Little Women, meets Bridget Jones, by Barbra Metzger.


The Miernik Dossier (Paul Christopher, Bk 1)
The Miernik Dossier (Paul Christopher, Bk 1)
Author: Charles McCarry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/21/2013


Good book, which I did not like. Cold War Thriller and an interesting (ca 1973) take on Sudan. The novel is written as excerpts from intel reports, debriefs, and outside observers. The book thus is intentionally choppy, and lacked a narrative flow. Though written ages ago, it still packed a good punch and was not at all dated.


My Kind of Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 20)
My Kind of Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 20)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 11/19/2012


Carr is not up to her usual standards for this. Only 3 stars


1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Want fewer ads?