Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Andrew L. (mythreeblondes) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall
After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall
Author: Nancy Kress
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/25/2014


This is a novelette, so its rather short to have been published on its own. The characters are kinda "meh", but the plot technique of weaving three different points of view/time lines is interesting, as is how the story eventually comes to fruition. I'd recommend it for any fans of Nancy Kress or green/environmental types.


AI Unbound: Two Stories of Artificial Intelligence
AI Unbound: Two Stories of Artificial Intelligence
Author: Nancy Kress
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/25/2014


Just a warning to fans of Nancy Kress: Both of these stories ("Savior" and "Computer Virus") have appeared in one of her earlier anthologies, "Nano Comes to Clifford Falls and Other Stories".


Anachronisms
Anachronisms
Author: Christopher Hinz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/26/2010


Bad. Bad, bad, bad, BAD. This is a BAD BOOK. I liked the Liege Killer trilogy - those were good books. This was not. Don't read it.

You have been warned.


Another Place to Die
Another Place to Die
Author: Sam, North
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/8/2014


I like post-apocalyptic fiction. This one was nice as it was the first Canadian EOTWAWKI story I've ever read, but otherwise rather "meh" -- not great, not terrible.


The Architect of Sleep
The Architect of Sleep
Author: Steven R. Boyett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The book was good; not great, not terrible, but good. Original ideas, well executed, good dialogue. The only reason I only rated it 3.5 stars was because it was obviously the first of two books and the second book was never published. There were too many loose ends at the end, too many plot lines left unfinished, to be truly satisfying; the book doesn't work very well on its own.


Ashwood (Ashwood, Bk 1)
Ashwood (Ashwood, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Kraack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/27/2014


Interesting. Not as much action as I usually prefer in my EOTWAWKI books, but it does remind me a little bit of The Handmaid's Tale (the tone, not the story per se). I'd like to read the sequel, so that's good, right?


Assholes Finish First (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Assholes Finish First (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Tucker Max
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/11/2014


Foul. Filthy. Anti-woman, anti-minority, sociopathic. He should be a poster child for AA, safe sex, PETA, etc.

But also funny at hell. Only 4 stars, because not as original as "I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell", his first book, but definitely worth the 2 credits. Extra bonus credit -- read by the author!!


Blind Waves
Blind Waves
Author: Steven Gould
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/9/2014


I like Steven Gould's first two novels (Wildside & Jumper) more, but an "OK" Gould is still better than 90% of the other books out there. Alternating POV between the two main protagonists, one male and one female.


The Body Human: Three Stories of Future Medicine
The Body Human: Three Stories of Future Medicine
Author: Nancy Kress
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/25/2014


Just a warning to fans of Nancy Kress: 2 of these three stories ("Fault Lines" and "Evolution") have appeared in an earlier anthology, "Beaker's Dozen".


California: A Novel
California: A Novel
Author: Edan Lepucki
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/17/2014
Helpful Score: 3


As a post-apocalyptic novel, it kinda sucks.

As a study of marriage, a couple being together for a long time and growing into love and through that to the other side into complacency, it's ok. Not great, but OK.


Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type
Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type
Author: Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin (Illustrator)
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 12/19/2013


Per my 7 year old daughter Flora:

"This book is really good. Me, my sister [3 yrs old] and my brother [2 y/o] loved it, but my brother loved it the most. What I liked most was the pictures and the story."

There you go: Straight from the Flora's mouth.


Confessions of a D-List Supervillain (Volume 1)
Confessions of a D-List Supervillain (Volume 1)
Author: Jim Bernheimer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/14/2014


Cute book. The story was a little too cute and the narrator was a bit too self-aware, but fans of superheros/comic books will like this one.


Dealing in Futures
Dealing in Futures
Author: Joe Haldeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/4/2018


I first got hooked on Haldeman with "Worlds Apart", then went back to read "Worlds" and on to read "The Forever War" and everything else he's written. He's great!

This is his second collection of short stories. One of the things he does is to write a short blurb after each story explaining what he was doing when he wrote it, what his motivation was, etc.

Read it! I bet you'll love it!


Dog Days
Dog Days
Author: Daniel Lyons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/16/2012


Funny! Really, really, laugh-out-loud funny. It helps if you're a nerd (which I am), but I don't do anything with computers or programming or any of that and it was still funny.

Basically a sweet love story wrapped up in geek-comeupance and a peripheral mob boss' racing greyhound. Great book.


An Exchange of Hostages (Jurisdiction, Bk 1)
An Exchange of Hostages (Jurisdiction, Bk 1)
Author: Susan R. Matthews
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/14/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't like this book. It was too slow and the writing style was stilted in a way that made it hard to read, it was awkward. The characters didn't engage me.


False Dawn
False Dawn
Author: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Dark. Dated - it was very obviously written in the 1970s. Think "Soylent Green" more than "Planet of the Apes". Having said that, it's a different spin on the post-apocalypse trope and its well written. And none of this happily-ever-after ending stuff either.


The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August
Author: Claire North
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/21/2015


I have to echo the comments below: Great premise, boring book. The protagonist isn't very compelling and his antagonist is not believable.

A better time traveling book would be Replay by Ken Grimwood:

http://www.paperbackswap.com/Replay-Ken-Grimwood/book/068816112X/


Genesis
Genesis
Author: Bernard Beckett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Pros: Very original idea, well executed and nice balance of shifting POVs between "present" (a dystopian future) and their past, our near future. Great twist ending, very O'Henry/Twilight Zone.

Cons: Very short -- really more of a novella than a novel. Long on dialogue, short on action. You have to think about what you're reading, so it's not pure fun like "Lucifer's Hammer", but as mentioned by other reviewers, the book is worth the work you will put into it.


Goodnight Moon
Goodnight Moon
Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Clement Hurd (Illustrator)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 9/11/2010


Wonderful book. We have been reading this to our 4-yr old for 2 years; she loved it as an infant and she still loves it even now that she's a "big girl." Short, sweet, nice art.


Guns of Avalon, Amber Series (Audiocassette)
Guns of Avalon, Amber Series (Audiocassette)
Author: Roger Zelazny
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2012


Awesome series-- a true classic. They aren't written this well any more. Really original ideas, great characters, a story line that really needs five volumes to develop. An added bonus: the audiobook is read by the author himself, zelazny. How cool is that?!


1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
Want fewer ads?