Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Fara L. (farazon) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Author: Aron Ralston
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/22/2012


Sometimes hard to listen to because ;he , the writer is the man recounting the events so well. I found myself listening and imagining the desperation of his situation. More than once I felt my own arm as he talked and shuttered at the choices he had to make. Well written and Aron reads his own tale in the audio version. No one else could have done as well. This book is as real as it gets. Now I will search out the movie. This book stays with you whenever you put it down.


Carrying Albert Home: The Somewhat True Story of a Woman, a Husband, and her Alligator
Review Date: 12/16/2017


A wonderful plot for a story. I enjoyed the authors notes at the beginnings of the chapters. Toward the middle the stories became tedious for me. Homer and Elsie had some interesting adventures on the way to Florida with the alligator. (during the Depression) This is a "mostly true " story with some story telling leeway. Truthfully I skipped a few stories in the middle and I enjoyed the ending.


The Celestine Prophecy: An Adventure (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
The Celestine Prophecy: An Adventure (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: James Redfield
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/7/2011


I just could not get through the first tape. I kept waiting for it to get better. Finally on side 2 I decided it was wasting my time. Seemed to new agey preachy to me. I did not like any of the characters. I really did not feel like the main character was interesting. And I began to wonder how many planes were flying into Peru with searchers for this elussive manuscript, and then I gave up.


Charles Chaplin My Autobiography
Charles Chaplin My Autobiography
Author: Charles Chaplin
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/23/2011


I enjoyed most of this book, but Charlie Chaplin could have used a good editor. At first I thought he was just trying to sound smart. He used the word,"supercilious" at least 7 times. He had a rough early life and educated himself and for that he is to be applauded. He describes events in his life and the people who were in his life with him, but he does not reveal many real emotions and he seems to cover up a lot with big words. When I go back and watch youtube videos after listening to his book; it is then that I can see the charm this man had on film and with people.A marvelous comic/writer /actor/composer--but a very long narrative.


Cheshire Cheese Cat (Lib)(CD)
Cheshire Cheese Cat (Lib)(CD)
Author: Carmen Deedy
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/16/2017


What a delightful book. The audio book reader was marvelous with the voices and this book at times is action packed and full of characters with their own voice. If you like English tales this book may be for you. If you enjoy cats and mice and a wise raven (from the Tower of London) this book may be for you. Just a little predictable , but no less enjoyable. I would love to see this staged as a play. Special appearances by Queen Victoria and Charles Dickens. I loved it and I would listen to it again.


The Christmas Cookie Club (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/8/2012


I could not get past the first cd of this book. It may get better but , I will never know. The recipes are nice, but I did not enjoy the minute details of one womans everyday life. I could not relate to her imperfect life and her perfect cookies, LOL. I was hoping for something a little more light-hearted. I thought "cookie bitches"(her term) would be funny.


The Christmas Wedding
The Christmas Wedding
Author: James Patterson, Richard DiLallo
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I did not enjoy listening to this book. "Gabby" (even her kids call her this name)is getting married , but there is a secret. Who will she marry? Potential grooms abound and even her kids who each have their own drama do not know . Heck the groom doesn't know and won't know until the wedding day . I will sum up : cliched characters, unbelievable situations and boring people. The reading in the audio version is uneven as the speaker attempts to give every character a different voice. Just did not work for me.


The Cloud Garden: A True Story of Adventure, Survival, and Extreme Horticulture
Review Date: 5/2/2011


This book has everything I like: a true story of an unusual adventure, travel in an exotic place, and finding strength in friendship and overcomming obstacles. I love books about capture and escape. And this tale of young men stumbling into the Darien Strait and right into more trouble than they bargained for is a true and complete tale. You may tire here and there with talk of plants, but most of the story deals with dealing with their captors. And the ever present threat of death .


C'mon, Get Happy : Fear and Loathing on the Partridge Family Bus
C'mon, Get Happy : Fear and Loathing on the Partridge Family Bus
Author: David Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I liked David Cassidy more--before reading this book. It might be hard to write an autobiography and not sound a little self involved, but I sure did not expect so many references to his world famous penis. I did enjoy reading about his family and having to deal with ardent fans and sudden celebrity. A quick read . I have another of his books ,but I need a break in between.


A Coal Miner's Bride: The Diary of Anetka Kaminska (Dear America)
Review Date: 8/18/2010


Wonderful book like all Dear America books it gives a story that connects you with a small piece of Americas' past. Wonderful feel for the time and place thru the eyes of one young person.


The Color of Light
The Color of Light
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 1/23/2012


I enjoyed reading "The Color of Light" up until near the end. I was happily reading even tho some plot items were predictable and always used. ie: The guy and gal have an unhappy past and they try to distance themselves from one another only to not be able to resist each other, LOL... And we the readers can guess what will be found in the mysterious hole---long before the characters figure it out.
***Spoiler Allert***
But right at the end the writer lost me when even when the skeletonized remains are found and mearly feet away ,within a few hours. The cops leave the scene, they suspect it was the corpse of their long lost best friend, And they have to get down and dirty-grinding sand into each others body parts. Who thinks about having sex on the beach just after a dead friend is found? The book ends predictably and I just skimmed the last few pages; by then I knew how it would be wrapped up.Up until that moment in the book- the big build up to the discovery of the body I was happily along for the ride.


The Color Purple (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Color Purple (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Alice Walker
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/19/2012


What a wonderful book; not only about the struggles of the main character with her hard life from childhood to marriage, but also er struggles with her image of Gods' place in her world. (without being too preachy) My edition was read by the author and read well.Never do you suspect that you are listening to a fiction. It feels like a real life; that you want to cheer for with each chapter. As almost always--better than the movie.


Dream More: Celebrate the Dreamer in You (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Dream More: Celebrate the Dreamer in You (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Dolly Parton
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/8/2016


A short but nice and inspirational book. I enjoyed listening to the message ,and the songs .If more people would incorporate some of this view in their life the world would be a better place.


Emily and Einstein: A Novel of Second Chances
Emily and Einstein: A Novel of Second Chances
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 8/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The plot for this book was cute and original. A couple in love and married. The husband dies in a tragic accident. Not so original I hear you saying and that was what I was thinking as I read chapter one. Something better happen quick or I'll set this book aside. Then it happened and without giving away too many twists and complications; the husband becomes a dog--a second chance to get things right and help his widowed wife.
I found this book to be a compelling read and so much fun . I guessed the end; but enjoyed the trip.


The Flame Trees of Thika : Memories of an African Childhood
The Flame Trees of Thika : Memories of an African Childhood
Author: Elspeth Huxley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/31/2011


I loved this book. In the realm of other girl/ childhood memory books this book is a classic. I enjoyed the trip into Africa and going on the journey with Elspeth and her family . In their own way they were pioneering settlers; beginning a new life from scratch.
This had been made into a series that I loved and as always, the book fills in gaps left by TV or movies.


Flyboys: A True Story of Courage
Flyboys: A True Story of Courage
Author: James Bradley
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I love history and some of the accounts from this small part of WWII is sometimes hard to hear without crying. I can't help but compare these tragic tales with those I hear about now from the Afghan War and the Iraqi War. Man can be particulary cruel. This book relates some things from the Pacific conflict that had been hidden in the past. This is an importent book for any war time history buff. Real life drama with the perspective of time.


Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/9/2011


Just wonderful listening to Fannie Flagg read her own book. Of course I had loved reading the book some time ago. And watched the movie, but nothing beats hearing this sweet story by the author herself encompassing the Great Depression and an ordinary woman in modern day this story flows easily from story teller to a woman in the funny depths of menopause. I want to invoke the courage of Towanda myself once in a while.


The Friendly Persuasion
The Friendly Persuasion
Author: Jessamyn West
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/22/2010


This is a wonderful story about a Quaker family in the 1800's . Almost everyone has seen the movie starring Gary Cooper . And everyone knows the book is almost always better than the film. This book does not disapoint. Sweet, funny and so compelling that I found the second book ," Except for Me and Thee".


From This Moment On
From This Moment On
Author: Shania Twain
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/19/2017


My review is for the audiobook. I was disappointed mostly because I continually had to really try to get into the book. I didn't know if it was the seemingly unimportant details or the voice of the reader. I am sure it was cathartic for her to write the book , but it was not an interesting listen.


Full Service: My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars
Review Date: 4/3/2013
Helpful Score: 2


After a few disturbing chapters I scanned through the rest and gave up. This was an exploitive book . How much is true and how much may be blown out of proportion (?) I have a co-worker that turned 30 minutes at the police station into hard time in his own mind ; and that is what it reminds me of. The photos are previously published studio shots. The stories are not witty , they are only meant to titillate and I would have to believe that everyone Scotty ever met had sexual issues. Just not my kind of book.


1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
Want fewer ads?