Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Denise C. (teddybear) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
An Opening for Murder
An Opening for Murder
Author: Nageeba Davis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/25/2010


I liked the characters in this book for the most part, even though one in particular seemed more than unlikely in real life. The mystery held together well although the method used to murder was gruesome.


Bindweed (Bretta Solomon Gardening, Bk 6)
Bindweed (Bretta Solomon Gardening, Bk 6)
Author: Janis Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/13/2010


I did enjoy this mystery but was disappointed in the ending. I found it somewhat implausible but don't want to go into detail, so as not to spoil it for another reader.


Blood Drive (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 2)
Blood Drive (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Jeanne C. Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 4/16/2010


I enjoyed reading this book. I wasn't sure if I would when I first started it since the main character's abilities/liabilities deviate some from the typical vampire lore. I thought the characters were interesting and am looking forward to reading the first in the series along with the later ones.


Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 4/28/2010


I enjoyed this book although it had a high body count and a very stubborn main character. The plot was well thought out and kept me guessing as to who was one of the bad guys. I will probably read other books in the series.


Call of the Moon
Call of the Moon
Author: Ronda Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 5/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Pretty much a typical romance novel with more of an unusual plot than I expected. I thought the idea of having a group of people living isolated from current society a change of pace. The ending was a nice twist but not totally unexpected.


The Cat Who Sang for the Birds (Cat Who...Bk 20)
The Cat Who Sang for the Birds (Cat Who...Bk 20)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 3/24/2010


When I first started reading this series almost 25 years ago I really liked the books. Now after all this time, the Cat Who books just seem repetitive with so many old and new characters being introduced it seems like the largest part of the story. That said, this book was a quick read and still somewhat enjoyable.


Chore Whore: Adventures of a Celebrity Personal Assistant
Chore Whore: Adventures of a Celebrity Personal Assistant
Author: Heather H. Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't care much for this book. I felt that it lacked any real plot or character development. While some of the things requested of Corki Brown, celebrity personal assistant, were vaguely amusing the book was more of a to do list than a story.


Come and See: A Photojournalist's Journey into the World of Mother Teresa
Review Date: 2/8/2010


Not too surprisingly this book was more about the photographs than text. Although the photos did convey what Mother Teresa and her mission attempt to do, I would have liked more about them and less about the author/photographer's personal journey.


Dear Professor Einstein: Albert Einstein's Letters to and from Children
Review Date: 1/29/2010


The book was a quick read. I enjoyed the photos and biographical information more than I did the actual letters.


Death by Deep Dish Pie (Stain-Busting, Bk 2)
Death by Deep Dish Pie (Stain-Busting, Bk 2)
Author: Sharon Short
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/15/2010


An okay mystery which tries too hard to be amusing.


Devil's Trumpet (Gardening Mystery, Bk 1)
Devil's Trumpet (Gardening Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Freeman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed reading this mystery. It was a quick read but held my attention. The murderer was easy to pick out but that didn't spoil my enjoyment of the book. I am looking forward to reading the next one in the series.


A Dog Year: Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
A Dog Year: Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/25/2010


I was hoping to like this story more than I did. I don't think I would have read it if I had known how sad it would be in parts. One of the dogs was amusing with it's antics but still overall the story didn't hold my interest.


Final Resting Place: The Lives and Deaths of Famous St. Louisans
Review Date: 1/21/2010


Very dry reading with a lot of dates which considering the subject matter is not unexpected but the book also lacked any real depth. It is mostly just dates and where people are buried but not much about their lives which is what I would have liked to read.


Review Date: 1/16/2010


The blurb on the back of this book claimed that according to the National Enquirer (should have tipped me off right then!) it was a laugh a minute. I don't think I laughed once--writing style was dry and tedious. It didn't help that political elections don't interest me all that much, I picked it up more for the historical aspect.


Ghost of a Chance (Chintz 'n China, Bk 1)
Ghost of a Chance (Chintz 'n China, Bk 1)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 3/1/2010


This book is classified as a mystery which it is but the plot relies very heavily on a paranormal element which I thought did nothing for the book. I expected a "ghost" as one is mentioned in the title and book description but the story doesn't center so much on that ghost but an evil presence entirely unrelated. The mystery itself was pretty standard.


Gil's All Fright Diner
Gil's All Fright Diner
Author: A. Lee Martinez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/4/2010


I wasn't sure I would enjoy this book but I did. It was humorous and had some different takes on the typical lore and legends of vampires and werewolves. I loved the zombies possessed by evil spirits talking amongst themselves.


Hearts West : True Stories of Mail-Order Brides on the Frontier
Hearts West : True Stories of Mail-Order Brides on the Frontier
Author: Chris Enss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 1/17/2012
Helpful Score: 5


An interesting book but could have used more fleshing out. Most of the mini-bios of the women and men were very sketchy and I would have loved more photos. The book also borrowed quite a bit of information from a another title--Women of the West.


Jamestown, the Buried Truth
Jamestown, the Buried Truth
Author: William M. Kelso
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The book was interesting but only to a point. It was really neat that archaeologists were able to discover the original site of Jamestown, first settled in 1607. The book itself was too technical for real reading enjoyment, at least by me.


Just A Mutt
Just A Mutt
Author: Eldon Roark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/10/2015


The stories about the different dogs and their attributes and talents were interesting. I really disliked the dated content in the stories concerning as the author always stated "Negro" dog owners. I continued reading the book trying to keep in mind that it was written in 1947 by a man living in Memphis, TN.


Lincoln At Home : Two Glimpses Of Abraham Lincolns Family Life
Review Date: 3/24/2010


Thin volume without a lot of substance. The information about the Lincoln's living in the White House was interesting as were the letters from Abraham and Mary to each other. I didn't find the page after page of telegraphs to each other and their son Robert during the Civil War holding my attention though.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
Want fewer ads?