Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Erin V. (hawaiishoegirlie) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag
Review Date: 6/22/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Amazing! I picked up this book just because the hardcover was soo pretty (it looks like a real Birkin!) and found myself laughing outloud at Michael's antics. How does one man become the most notorious Birkin seller in the whole world? All this, from selling one Hermes scarf? I read this book at LEAST 5x a year and each time I love it more. If you're able to get this book, hang on to it! Not one to be swapped easily!


The Frog Prince
The Frog Prince
Author: Jane Porter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I picked this book mainly because it was set in the Marina/Cow Hollow district of San Francisco, where I live. If you're familiar with the area, you'll find that the author uses many true-life bars/restaurants within the story line, which I thought was fantastic.

I found that the author sometimes gets so caught up in describing her heroine's moods and thoughts that you can go a page and a half before there's any interaction between the main character and a secondary character. I found myself skipping over pages until i saw "quotation" marks indicating dialogue. But aside from the "mental dialogue", I really enjoyed Holly's story. It's nice to see a woman who isn't dependant on a man to help her live her life.

Cute read.


Getting Warmer
Getting Warmer
Author: Carol Snow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 9/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It's okay chick lit. I got irritated with the lead character after awhile with all the lies she was telling, but I guess that was the whole point of the story. To be honest, I'm more confused by the cover art since I have no clue what it has to do with the actual story line!


Handbags and Gladrags
Handbags and Gladrags
Author: Maggie Alderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/31/2010


Love Love LOVED this book! It's chick lit without being predictable and it's nice to see a main character that actually GROWS throughout the storyline.

I couldn't put this book down and have already order 2 more of Ms. Alderson's novels!


He Loves Lucy
He Loves Lucy
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 400
Review Date: 7/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I DEVOURED this book in one sitting! As a plus size girl, I loved being able to relate to the character and understand what's going through her head when she's debating ordering a pizza with a side of ice cream!! Excellent book, right up there with other plus size friendly books "Jemima J by Jane Green and "Take Me" by Bella Andre.


Honor's Splendour
Honor's Splendour
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 9/22/2009


Beautifully written. The first Historical romance novel I ever read where once I was finished, I started to re-read because the story captivated me so.

I wish there was more of Madelyne and Duncan's story!


House of Cards
House of Cards
Author: David Dickerson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/4/2010


It was okay. A little heavy on the religious stuff and if you're not of the same belief system he is, it can be overwhelming to have God on almost every page. I was hoping for more antics of his time at Hallmark, but all it really seemed to be about was him not being accepted for the smart person he was. As for his sexual frustrations, that was pretty jarring. I understand the book is a memoir, but I really didn't need to know about the blow jobs and hookers.


Matched (Matched, Bk 1)
Matched (Matched, Bk 1)
Author: Ally Condie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 12/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I was bored and found the writing to be amateurish. Not at all interested in continuing on with the series, Hunger Games beats this hands down.


Red Hot Reunion
Red Hot Reunion
Author: Bella Andre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 7/23/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I was hoping this story would be as good as Bella Andre's "Take Me"...it was just meh. I got irritated very quickly by the Emma's lack of decision and back bone and Jason was an jerk. Hard to like either of them. The only person who made the book bearable was the heroine's best friend. Her one liners were great, Ms. Andre should base a book off her instead! Steamy sex scenes as always, but I found myself flipping through the last 8 pages just to finish the story.


Sail
Sail
Author: Howard Roughan, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 452
Review Date: 12/8/2009


A passenger left this behind on our aircraft and having nothing to read till our next flight, I decided to take a quick peek. I've read Patterson's Sunday's at Tiffanys and wasn't impressed, so I wasn't expecting much but Wow!!! I couldn't put this book down! I loved the plot twists and the fast paced storyline, kept on telling myself "just one more chapter" only to start on the next chapter immediately because I loathed to not know WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!! This is a keeper!


Sister Salty, Sister Sweet: A Memoir of Sibling Rivalry
Review Date: 9/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I found this to be a bittersweet and poignant story of two sister's point of view growing up. My heart broke for Shannon after learning what caused her eating disorder and it was interesting to see how Natalie interpreted Shannon's downfall.

I think this book was a great way for the sisters to reconcile with each other over events from their childhood.

Not a keeper (I swapped mine), but definitely a must read for those with siblings.


Staked (Void City, Bk 1)
Staked (Void City, Bk 1)
Author: J. F. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 7/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Ugh..I couldn't even get through the first half of this book. The writing is all over the place and the lack of continuity just confused me more and more with each turn of the page. You can tell it's a first novel for this author. The story, per the back cover, sounds great but when you're reading it, it feels like a very VERY rough draft. Posted it to swap without finishing it. Thank god I got it from the bargain bin at Borders for only $3.99. I would've been pissed if I had paid full price.


Take Me (Take Me, Bk 1)
Take Me (Take Me, Bk 1)
Author: Bella Andre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 7/17/2009
Helpful Score: 4


STEAMY!!! As a plus size woman, I appreciate Bella Andre's endorsement that full figured are just as wicked and sexy as their thin counter-parts. As with most of Andre's books , the plot does move a little too quickly then it would in the real world, but her sex scenes are the real highlight. Dirty and juicy with a touch of class...just the way I like it!


Vampire Memoirs
Vampire Memoirs
Author: Mara McCuniff, Traci Briery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/16/2009


From the back cover:
"My friends and family have good reason to worry about this little diary of mine. But now that I've mad my decision to write this, I don't think I can, or should, go back. I am a vampire, you see..."

Thus begins the remarkable saga of Mara McCuniff. It is a story that spans the 1600 years from her birth in the 4th century in a small British village to her present-day life in Los Angeles; from her life as a very human daughter, wife, and mother to her unwilling transformation into a vampire at the hands of the Master to her centuries of undying existence as a creature of the night. Forced to hide from those who fear her and sought to destroy her, it is Mara's destiny to forever roam the night in order to survive. Around her the world is constantly changing and as Mara adapts to the new ways, one thing remains a constant-her thirst for life's blood.


Wild (Winston Brothers and Cousins, Bk 4)
Wild (Winston Brothers and Cousins, Bk 4)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 331
Review Date: 9/26/2009


I want a man like Zane. Period. Lori Foster has ruined all other men for me.


Wildly Winston
Wildly Winston
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 9/26/2009


Oh My Lord, this was a steamy read! Love Love LOVE the Winston brothers. Why can't there be men like this where I live? The second story with Chase was a little far out, but Cole's story was STEAMY! Mack's was sweet and Zane's, well, who doesn't want a man like Zane in her life?! Lori Foster sure can arouse (pun intended!) her reader's interests!


The Winston Brothers: Tangled Sheets / Tangled Dreams / Tangled Images (Winston Brothers, Bks 1-3)
Review Date: 9/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Oh My Lord, this was a steamy read! Love Love LOVE the Winston brothers. Why can't there be men like this where I live? The second story with Chase was a little far out, but Cole's story was STEAMY! Lori Foster sure can arouse (pun intended!) her reader's interests!


1 to 17 of 17
Want fewer ads?