Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 

Jody O. (mzltllamb) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Abuse of Power
Abuse of Power
Author: Nancy Taylor Rosenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/10/2020


Because there was no "suspense" in this story, there were times that I felt it read a little slow. The storyline seemed obvious, but it was still written well enough that I wanted to keep reading and see exactly HOW the good guy(s) would win.
And then, there was the ending...and it was totally unexpected and caused me to put the book down and process it. For as obviously as the storyline was, the ending made me realize that I was glad I kept reading!


All Fall Down
All Fall Down
Author: Carlene Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 11/10/2018


I recently discovered this author, and this book does not disappoint! Ms. Thompson has a unique style of introducing multiple possible 'villians' and then, through the story, has a way to convince you that you know who the killer is, only to flush out that character's story and prove that it isn't. I had it narrowed down to two, and both were wrong. If you like good suspense with just a little eeriness thrown in, you will like this book!


All the Beautiful Lies (Larger Print)
All the Beautiful Lies (Larger Print)
Author: Peter Swanson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/21/2021


Wow! This book had some astonishing and surprising twists and turns throughout! It took me a little while to get into the changes each chapter from "Then" to "Now", but once I got the hang out that, I couldn't help but keep turning the pages! When I got to the end of the chapter where the 'villain' is finally revealed, I put my bookmark in, closed the book, half-slammed it onto my leg and said, out loud, "Holy S**t!" I NEVER saw that coming! Even after learning that, however, the twists and turns continued! Like I said, Wow!

I'm definitely keeping my eyes out for other books by this author!


Already Home
Already Home
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 1/3/2013


A very easy read, definitely a good beach or vacation book. The story is somewhat predictable as it unfolds. The underlying current of emotion about discovering your birth parents and developing a relationship with them while still remaining loyal and true to the parents who raised you was poignant and believable. This would be a good book for anyone who has been adopted, because it does, within the storyline, give some good advice on how to deal with those emotional issues.

I read it in less than 24 hours, and enjoyed it.


Before He Wakes: A True Story of Money, Marriage, Sex, and Murder
Before He Wakes: A True Story of Money, Marriage, Sex, and Murder
Author: Jerry Bledsoe
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 11/2/2020


This is a true-crime book, that is, based on a true life story, including photos of persons involved. The story is so engrossing to make it feel like it can only be a work of fiction; to know there are people such as the 'villain' of this story is very disturbing to me. This author has written other true-crime books, and I'm torn between wanting to read them because they are well-written and engrossing and not wanting to read them because I don't necessarily want to know that these kinds of people exist in my world.

I would highly recommend this book based on the writing skills.


Between the Sheets
Between the Sheets
Author: Robin Wells
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 9/22/2009


One of the most enjoyable of this genre of story! Follow Max and Emma as Emma works to clear her name and Max tried to help her while protecting his own. Just for fun, join Dorothy and Harold, Emma's grandmother and Max's grandfather, as they develop a romance late in life. Dorothy's zest for life often gets the people around her in hot water, but her ability to believe in the best of everything shines through. The story is charming, engaging, and worthy of reading!


City of the Sun (Frank Behr, Bk 1)
City of the Sun (Frank Behr, Bk 1)
Author: David Levien
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 3/5/2014


I enjoyed this storyline immensely as a diversion from the normal storyline of similar genre books. I was drawn into the well-written lives of the characters, and while there may have been more "bloody" scenes than the book needed, it was an interesting journey to discover how far into the darkness of humanity some people will delve in order to, perhaps, absolve an old guilt.

What left me dissatisfied with this book was the ending - or lack of it. I turned the page looking for closure after the good guys came out on top, and the book was over. I was expecting at least a little bit of at least hope of some happily-ever-after or resolution for the victims in the story, and felt that the author just dropped the story without an ending.

For that disappointment, I couldn't rate the story more than 3-1/2 stars.


Close to Home
Close to Home
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/26/2019


I am a fan of Lisa Jackson, her style of writing and her stories. This one is no exception. I was led through much of the book absolutely CLUELESS who the "bad guy" might be - and when things finally started to make me believe one person, I struggled to figure out why. (I was wrong, by the way!)

Multiple storylines in this story help make it even more enjoyable. Besides the mystery/psychological drama Ms. Jackson is so good at, there are also storylines about old loves, family lies and secrets and the tug of parental love.


My only reason not to give it a 5-star review is that the writer failed to tell the reader how one character died - and it was the initial character I'd suspected. Not enough to make me sorry I read the book!


Clutches and Curses (Haley Randolph, Bk 4)
Clutches and Curses (Haley Randolph, Bk 4)
Author: Dorothy Howell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/28/2017


I read a lot of mystery/suspense/psychological thrillers, and every once in a while, I need something a little light-hearted for a change of pace. This book was perfect for that. It's my first book by this author, but I can see myself reading another from the Hayley Randolph series when I need my next break from the intense books. I really liked the writing style, the little nuggets of sarcasm and the easy-to-follow story line. Plus, it WAS, after all, a murder mystery!


Courting Cate (Courtships of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
Courting Cate (Courtships of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
Author: Leslie Gould
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/28/2023


Of the multiple writers of Amish fiction stories, Leslie Gould is my favorite. Nothing she has written that I've read is anything less than worth my time! As always, this book did not disappoint!


The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
Author: Phaedra Patrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/2/2022


The fact that the word "charm(s)" was used in the title of this book is brilliant! The fact is, this story WAS charming!

Arthur Pepper is led on a type of scavenger hunt when he discovered a charm bracelet belonging to his deceased wife, and each charm reveals things about her that he never knew!

The story is a great journey and reading the book was a delightful journey!


Dancing in the Dark (KEY News, Bk 8)
Dancing in the Dark (KEY News, Bk 8)
Author: Mary Jane Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 10/2/2013


In terms of suspense, this one had me suspecting characters other than the actual 'villian'; in fact, I was dumbfounded when I found out who it was. The story line about eating disorders was played out well and to the point that the reader feels the anguish of the parents of the girls who are suffering. I think that helps keep the reader from guessing who was perpetrating the crimes. A good, solid read that I finished in under 3 days. Definitely a 4-star.


Dead Silence
Dead Silence
Author: Donna Anders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/5/2017


This is my 2nd book by this author. I enjoyed the first one immensely, except for being able to guess the "bad guy"; the writing was good enough to make me want to read another by this author.

I was so TOTALLY WRONG in my guess(es) of who the bad guy was! This makes me give this book a 5-star review!

Again, the author has an intense vision into the world of psychology, which makes the writing even more suspenseful. I will admit that there were a few times I felt the storyline was dragging, but the stun of the ending made me so glad I didn't give up!


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1100
Review Date: 11/26/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I decided to get and read this book because of all of the hype about it and an alleged movie based on the book being considered.

The book was well written. There is an interesting story line along with copious amounts of "soft porn". It does give insight into the 'taboo' subject of BSDM, but it also allows us some depth into the main characters.

I liked this well enough that I ordered the other two books in the Trilogy. I've finished book 2 and am reading book 3. At this point, the sexual escapades have become a bit overkill for my preference, but the plot of the characters sustains me and there is a suspenseful side story in book 3 (Fifty Shade Freed) that I'm enjoying.

Don't be afraid to read this book if you're open-minded enough to grasp that missionary style sexual experiences aren't all there is in the world. The characters of Ana and Christian and their discoveries about themselves through the trilogy make an absorbing read.


He Loves Lucy
He Loves Lucy
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 401
Review Date: 5/9/2009


This was an easy-to-read book, full of interesting material that kept me reading and reading and reading!


Hearse and Buggy (Amish Mystery, Bk 1)
Hearse and Buggy (Amish Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Bradford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 3/26/2017


My favorite genre is mystery/suspense and I average 2 to 3 books a week. Most are very intense stories, and sometimes, I just need a little break.

That is why I enjoyed this book. The mystery is good (I was surprised by the ending). I live in Lancaster County, PA (Heavenly is a not a real town here) and so the Amish stories are easy for me to read because I know and understand the culture.

It's a charming and easy read. I have books 2 and 3 in my possession and expect I will enjoy them just as much for the same reasons.


Hurricanes in Paradise
Hurricanes in Paradise
Author: Denise Hildreth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/15/2014


Great characters and great storyline. I enjoyed this book so much that I emailed all of my girlfriends with electronic book readers and told them to purchase it!

Each main character had a different past that she brought into the gathering, but it was finding out those pasts that brought the bonds of friendship together.

A definite 5-star recommend!


In All the Wrong Places
In All the Wrong Places
Author: Donna Anders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/20/2017


Although I seldom guess correctly who the "bad guy" is in these books, I did guess, and felt assured my guess was accurate (it was) about 3/4 of the way through this book.

Despite that, I have to give this book a 5-star review. I finished the book in less than 24 hours, unable and unwilling to stop reading. This is the first I've read by this author, and I have ordered two more on this website.

Ms. Anders has a keen handle on psychological traits and uses that in her writing ability. Her characters are well thought out, and the reader gets to "know" each of them in ways that most books don't go as deep with.

I read a lot of murder/suspense books, averaging about 2 a week. In that regard, I tend to forget a storyline I've read as soon as I'm deep into a new book. Not the case with this book. Just looking at the cover and title bring the story vividly back.

I look forward to receiving and reading other book by this author!


Knock Me Off My Feet
Knock Me Off My Feet
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 279
Review Date: 7/5/2009


This book had me in tears three chapters before the end, and smiling at the end. I was very drawn into the book, and it was as great read! One of Ms. Donovan's best works!


The Last Thing He Told Me
The Last Thing He Told Me
Author: Laura Dave
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 6/20/2023


This book wasn't a page-turner or one that kept me up late at night reading. Having said that, the storyline was unique and easy to follow. I enjoyed reading the book and thought the ending was well-done.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: