Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Katrina C. (KatMarie) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Anne's Perfect Husband (Sinclair Brides, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historical, No 552)
Review Date: 12/27/2008
Helpful Score: 8


SPOILER ALERT, if you care...the heroine is raped in this book (not by the hero, thankfully, but still) I had been enjoying the book but this *highly unnecessary* plot device ripped me right out of the story and I was so disappointed. It may not bother other readers, but if you dislike rape in your romance as much as I do, I feel you should be given a heads-up. I wish I had known ahead of time...


The Bounty (Malloy Family, Bk 1)
The Bounty (Malloy Family, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Williamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 7/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Good historical, but NOT erotica! Just so you won't be as disappointed as I was, this is not as explicit as it is marketed to be. It is a nice story and worth a read, but just don't expect it to be smokin' hot. Most Harlequin Blaze books are sexier than this one.


The Chocolate War (Chocolate War, Bk 1)
The Chocolate War (Chocolate War, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Cormier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 12/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I was so disappointed in this book, after hearing from so many that it was great. It has a terrible message for teens - Stand up for what you believe in, and you'll just get smashed back down. Well written as to writing style, but horrible ending ruins it.


Colony
Colony
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 6


My Amazon review - I just reread this book for the first time since it was published in 1992. In the decade since I first devoured this 600+ page novel in one weekend I have become a wife, a daughter-in-law and a mother, so those relationships in this story now have an even deeper meaning to me. I don't think I can express strongly enough how thoroughly I was pulled into this tale, caught up in the weave of Siddons masterful storytelling and reluctant to extract myself at the end. I cried for these characters, laughed with them, hated some of them as passionately as I loved others, and finally thanked God that I am not, and never will be, anything like them. Siddons has created a world that I fervently hope has no equal in reality, as the thought of the extremes encountered in good and evil in this tale coexisting in one place, in one lifetime, is almost too much to bear. This is an enchanting story that may put you through the wringer, but it is so very worth it.


Cowboy Up
Cowboy Up
Author: Rob Knight (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


My Amazon review:

I was recommened this anthology by a friend as a good first book to try in the m/m erotica genre, and WOW, I was blown away! I enjoyed every single story, and I can honestly say that that has never been true of any kind of anthology I've read before. I liked some more than others - Stormclouds, Dry Bones and Surrender were exceptional - but I didn't dislike any of them. All were instantly engaging *and* believeable in a very short space, whereas so many other anthology stories I've read have not been able to pull that off.

I was also pleasantly surprised at how romantic the stories were - I appreciated the hot sex, but was really hooked by the depth of emotion portrayed within such a broad range of characters. I even teared up several times, and in my head all of the couples who might live happily ever after, do.

Kudos, also, to editer Rob Knight, who put them all together for me. I will absolutely be recommending this to friends.


Crystal Heart
Crystal Heart
Author: Lisa Gregory
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/25/2009


This has "Unknown Binding" in the catalog, but it is a Mass Market Paperback.


Daniel's Bride
Daniel's Bride
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/19/2007
Helpful Score: 4


My Amazon review - I've read many romance novels where sex is all two people in a marriage of convenience have in common, but this book is special. Miller instills a level of tenderness in this relationship that is missing from so many novels, and makes the reader ache for both the hero who still mourns his dead wife and the heroine who is trying her best to connect with him. The conflict of wanting someone and yet not really trusting them is so sharp in this story, yet the reader always has a sense of hope for this special couple and it is very realistic when the walls finally come down. This book is a keeper for Miller fans or those new to her work.


Deer At the Brook
Deer At the Brook
Author: Jim Arnosky
Book Type: Pamphlet
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/20/2006


Gorgeous illustrations!


Desire Me Only
Desire Me Only
Author: Thea Devine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/10/2007


My review from Amazon - I checked this one out of the library first, but ran out and bought my own as soon as I finished it. It was much better than I. Yes, the two main characters cannot stand each other - which is what makes it so intriguing that they can't keep their hands off one another in private. I think their mutual dislike in public starts off as genuine but quickly becomes mostly a facade, as they don't want to admit that they misjudged one another. By the end, they are very romantic and that makes love scenes that had been merely erotic into ones that are more sensual and loving. Give this book a chance, you may be as pleasantly surprised as I was.


Desire Me Only
Desire Me Only
Author: Thea Devine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/10/2007
Helpful Score: 4


My review from Amazon - I checked this one out of the library first, but ran out and bought my own as soon as I finished it. It was much better than I expected. Yes, the two main characters cannot stand each other - which is what makes it so intriguing that they can't keep their hands off one another in private. I think their mutual dislike in public starts off as genuine but quickly becomes mostly a facade, as they don't want to admit that they misjudged one another. By the end, they are very romantic and that makes love scenes that had been merely erotic into ones that are more sensual and loving. Give this book a chance, you may be as pleasantly surprised as I was.


Escape Not My Love
Escape Not My Love
Author: Elaine Coffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/13/2007


Terrific story, but this is a reissue. The originial version, from 1990, is better in my opinion because Jay is edgier and sexier in that one.


Escape Not My Love
Escape Not My Love
Author: Elaine Coffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This originial version, as opposed to the 1997 reissue, is better in my opinion because Jay is edgier and sexier in this one.


Every Frat Boy Wants It
Every Frat Boy Wants It
Author: Todd Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I was disappointed in this new author. His writing style is rather amateurish and flat, and I have read many other books that are both more erotic and more romantic. Try Chris Owen, Jourdan Lane or Lee Rowan for much better reads.


Forbidden (Harlequin Single Title)
Forbidden (Harlequin Single Title)
Author: Helen Kirkman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/30/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My Amazon review - This was my first book by Ms. Kirkman, but it will not be my last. This was a challenging read - those who like simple sentences, one-dimensional characters and every bit of the plot foreshadowed for them won't like it. But if you enjoy characters with emotional depth trying to get through complicated situations with their love intact, and want an ending that you didn't see coming, this is a book for you. Wulf is a wonderful hero - brave, patient, tender and understanding when by rights he should be belligerent and hateful. Rowena is a strong woman trying to keep her family and people safe without knowing whom she can trust, finding herself in the bewildering situation of relying on someone who should despise her. It doesn't sound like there would be room for romance here, but there is and it's heartwarming. This goes on my keeper shelf.


From This Day Forward
From This Day Forward
Author: Victoria Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/18/2007


My Amazon review - I don't know if I can properly express how much I loved this book. It isn't easily defineable, just that it hooked me from the beginning and didn't let me go until the wee hours of the morning. The characters feel real, and their emotions and actions ring very true. I have never had to deal with the horror of rape, but the fear and lasting injury that it causes was described so vividly here that I agonized along with Lori. And while lesser romance authors might have had Adam believe her from the start, that wouldn't be realistic. Of course he wouldn't want to think the worst about his brother. But he supports her and helps her overcome her fears because he falls in love with her (and her baby!) despite all the obstacles in the way. Yes, he makes *big* errors in judgement, but his loyalties are understandably torn. Interesting secondary characters help highlight the complexity in the dynamics of relationships on a late-Civil War plantation. Let's just say it's not all "black and white". An intense read that held my interest to the last page. It goes on my keeper shelf.


Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice
Author: Anonymous
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 9/7/2007


I read this book as a young teen and it had a profound effect on me. The situations Alice finds herself in terrified me, and I made a promise to myself then that I would never do drugs, and never have. I think it should be a must-read for anyone unaware of the personal dangers of drug use.


Hot Property
Hot Property
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/4/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I am stunned that the woman who wrote so many complex historicals could write such a shallow contemporary. Are all of her new ones this dreadful? The writing is at a high school level, with very simple dialogue and barely sketched characters. So disappointing.


Just Imagine
Just Imagine
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 235
Review Date: 5/20/2007
Helpful Score: 4


My Amazon review - This is my favorite by SEP, and that's saying alot, because I've really enjoyed all of her books. Maybe I'm a sucker for a hero and heroine who try so hard not to fall for each other, but this story grabbed me from the beginning and refused to let me go until I finished it at 2 AM! Kit's transformation from stubborn tomboy to independent belle is surprisingly believable. I agonized with her as she struggled between her long-held dream to regain her land and her growing feelings for the man keeping that dream from her. Baron's fight to resist caring for a woman who could tie him down to a life he didn't know he wanted is equally compelling. I also enjoyed the sub-plot of the secondary characters, and found myself just as intrigued about their future as Kit and Baron's. Emotions here are too raw and edgy to be called "romantic", but the story is magnetic - the sexual tension runs high, the love scenes are steamy with just the right hint of tenderness. The satifying ending is not achieved easily, which is refreshingly realistic. This one will be kept and re-read often.


Lazarus Rising (Harlequin American Romance, No 374)
Lazarus Rising (Harlequin American Romance, No 374)
Author: Anne Stuart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/22/2007


My Amazon review - I have read other books by Stuart that I really liked - "Glass Houses" is a particular favorite - but this one was too dark for me. I like Stuart's writing style, and the first third or so of the book is wonderful. It is about how Danny and Katharine first fell in love, and I really did believe that he loved her. Which is what made me dislike the rest of the story. I was nearly as distraught as Katharine to realize that the man who supposedly loved her so much was able to make himself forget her completely for a decade, to the point that he no longer even recognized her. That's not only unbelievable to me, it is also unromantic. Mac was able to convince Katharine that he had re-fallen for her, but Stuart didn't convince me. I will avoid any more of her books that have a time gap/reunion theme, because this was not a fun read for me.


Lazarus Rising (Reluctant Grooms) (Here Come the Grooms, No 1)
Lazarus Rising (Reluctant Grooms) (Here Come the Grooms, No 1)
Author: Anne Stuart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My Amazon review - I have read other books by Stuart that I really liked - "Glass Houses" is a particular favorite - but this one was too dark for me. I like Stuart's writing style, and the first third or so of the book is wonderful. It is about how Danny and Katharine first fell in love, and I really did believe that he loved her. Which is what made me dislike the rest of the story. I was nearly as distraught as Katharine to realize that the man who supposedly loved her so much was able to make himself forget her completely for a decade, to the point that he no longer even recognized her. That's not only unbelievable to me, it is also unromantic. Mac was able to convince Katharine that he had re-fallen for her, but Stuart didn't convince me. I will avoid any more of her books that have a time gap/reunion theme, because this was not a fun read for me.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Want fewer ads?