Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Julie S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 823
Review Date: 5/31/2006


Great read! I didn't realize the story revolved around a book club. Not as quirky as Tall Pine Polka, but I did enjoy it.


The Bachelor (Chandler Brothers, No 1)
The Bachelor (Chandler Brothers, No 1)
Author: Carly Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 536
Review Date: 10/14/2005


Not bad for the contrived plot. A quick read. Predictable. I almost put it down on about page 10 because of the mom's "scheme", but I'm glad I read it because in the end she did catch some grief for it and it wasn't considered "acceptable". Enjoy!


The Beach House (Beach House, Bk 1)
The Beach House (Beach House, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 10/14/2005
Helpful Score: 1


An absolutely wonderful book! For the type of book it was, I really expected it to be predictable, but it really wasn't. I loved the strong female lead character. I loved the fact that she didn't fall in love and submit to the man early and predictably. She is truly a "modern woman". I think the characters were well done and not overboard for what they were. It was really a very plausible story. I highly recommend this!


Breathing Lessons
Breathing Lessons
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/2/2006


I was not overly impressed with this book. It was boring and there seemed to be no point to it. Disappointing!


Carolina Moon
Carolina Moon
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 623
Review Date: 10/14/2005


Very good book! I couldn't decide if it was going to be a suspense book or just a love story, but it surprised me and there was a twist. I really enjoyed it though. A good, quick read.


Conversations With The Fat Girl
Conversations With The Fat Girl
Author: Liza Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 6/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I read this for a book discussion group. It really was better than I thought it would be. And it lends itself to a good discussion.


Food Editors' Favorites Cookbook
Food Editors' Favorites Cookbook
Author: Jane Baker, Barbara Gibbs Ostman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/16/2005
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover, "Treasured Recipes is filled with the best recipes from the private kitchens of leading newspaper food editors. In it is gathered a sumptuous collection of their treasured dishes, from appetizers to desserts."


Grilling Quick and Easy Recipes (Safe Party Planning, Vol 3)
Review Date: 10/16/2005


From the back cover, "Grill favorites such as ribs, chops and burgers take on new life with dozens of fresh recipe ideas from food editors and writers around the country."


In Her Shoes
In Her Shoes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1116
Review Date: 1/2/2006


Good book! Much different than I thought. I especially enjoyed the author's commentary in the back.


The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 11)
The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 11)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 630
Review Date: 10/14/2005


A Kay Scarpetta book.

Very good book. I was a little confused as I had read another of Cornwell's books that I think was written and set after this one, so I kept mixing them up. It's probably a good idea to read the Kay Scarpetta books in order.


The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 574
Review Date: 8/5/2006


Great book! Well written! It kept me guessing until the end! I would highly recommend it!


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 915
Review Date: 3/27/2006


I really enjoyed this story, although I found myself angry with Becky's MIL and DH and Kelly's DH. But it was a real page-turner!


Lost in Translation
Lost in Translation
Author: Nicole Mones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/14/2005


I thought it was a good book. I'm sure there was a lot more to it than I actually "got". I am more of a "read for entertainment" person than a "read for meaning" person. Unless it's part of a book discussion. I would recommend this.


The Pact
The Pact
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/19/2008


I was very ambivalent about this book. At one point early on, I wasn't even sure I was going to finish it. I thought it disturbing. I didn't think it was well-developed. And I especially didn't like the ending. There were too many loose ends. Not one of Picoult's best.


Pasta and Noodles : Food Writers Favorites
Pasta and Noodles : Food Writers Favorites
Author: Barbara Gib Ostmann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/16/2005


From the back cover, "More than 150 recipes contributed by food editors and writers across the United States and Canada attest to the popularity of pasta, as well as its diversity."


Rising Tides (Chesapeake Bay, Bk 2)
Rising Tides (Chesapeake Bay, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 757
Review Date: 8/15/2008


This was my favorite Nora Roberts book EVER! Usually by her 2nd or 3rd book in a trilogy, it is very predictable. This one was not. It had me laughing and crying in the same book. I thought it was very well written. I just loved the story! Highly recommended!!


Salads: Food Writers' Favorites
Salads: Food Writers' Favorites
Author: Barbara Gibbs Ostmann (Editor), Jane Baker (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/16/2005
Helpful Score: 2


From the back cover, "The salad recipes in this cookbook include tried-and-true personal favorites of food writers, many regional specialties and a few gourmet treats. In many cases, the food editors and writers who contributed recipes have altered their favorites, cutting fat and calories."


Sammy's Hill (Sammy, Bk 1)
Sammy's Hill (Sammy, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Gore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 2/22/2006


This was an enjoyable read. I thought that the tone of the book changed about half way through. I actually liked the 2nd half better than the first.


Secrets of the Baby Whisperer: How to Calm, Connect, and Communicate with Your Baby
Review Date: 11/3/2005


From the dust jacket, "Reassuring, down-to-earth, and often flying in the face of conventional wisdom, Secrets of the Baby Whisperer promises parents not only a healthier, happier baby but a more relaxed and happy household as well."


Still Waters
Still Waters
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 440
Review Date: 10/14/2005


From the back cover, "Running from a messy divorce, Elizabeth believed buying a small-town newspaper offered a fresh start for herself and her son. But idyllic Still Creek, nestled in the heart of lush Amish farmlands, hides secrets dangerous enough to push someone to commit murder. Now Elizabeth must risk everything to save herself and her son, and to unmask the killer . . .before the current of evil flowing through Still Creek drags her under."

I really enjoyed this book. I didn't figure it out until the end. I liked the fact that there was a murder to be solved, but there were other storylines as well, it really added to it. I think I will look up some other books from this author.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
Want fewer ads?