Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Chris C. (chrisnsally) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 112 - Page:
700 Sundays
700 Sundays
Author: Billy Crystal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/19/2009


The first half of this book made me laugh and laugh! The second half of the book made me cry. This book is brilliant, a brilliant autobiography by Billy Crystal. This is a book that I believe everyone should read. It clocks in at less than 200 pages so there's no excuse not to read 700 Sundays a brilliant history of Billy Crystal's family and their very influential contributions to the entertainment business.


Artifact of Evil (Greyhawk Adventures, Bk 2)
Artifact of Evil (Greyhawk Adventures, Bk 2)
Author: E. Gary Gygax
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/2/2011


More good stuff from our pal Gary G. This tale, of Gord the Rogue, provides a very detailed setting of the World of Greyhawk.


The Beginning Place
The Beginning Place
Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/16/2009


While The Wizard of Earthsea was supposed to have been adolescent fiction Beginning Place is, in fact, adolescent fiction. I have a shelf full of Mrs. Le Guin's books but Beginning Place just wasn't my style. However, young readers that are fans of Harry Potter might appreciate this book.


Best American Beers: An Enthusiast's Guide to the Most Distinctive Craft Brews of the Us and Canada (Style)
Review Date: 4/14/2014


Great little resource, archiving the landscape of North American Micro-breweries at the end of the Twentieth Century.


Bizarre Books
Bizarre Books
Author: Russell Ash (Compiler), Brian Lake (Compiler)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/17/2015


Not as bizarre as the title would imply and quite interesting for bibliophiles.


Bizarre Books: A Compendium of Classic Oddities
Bizarre Books: A Compendium of Classic Oddities
Author: Russell Ash, Brian Lake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/28/2015


Who wouldn't love this book? We love to read and thus we love books, here's a compilation book about books. These book titles are often unbelievable, often strange but, nearly always, hilarious. Certainly worth reading just for the laughs, you might want to keep a copy of Bizarre Books as a handy comical reference.


The Black Cauldron (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk 2)
The Black Cauldron (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk 2)
Author: Lloyd Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 10/25/2010


Taran, Assistant Pig Keeper to the Sage Dallben, once again joins Lord Gwydion to defend Prydian agains the evil Arawn. Their band of warriors attempts to steal the Black Cauldron, the source of Arawn's undead minions, only to discover that it has been removed from Arawn's stronghold. This is a fun and light hearted tale to be enjoyed by young readers and adults too.


The Blade of Conan : The World's Greatest Living Fantasy Writers Pay Tribute to Robert E. Howard
Review Date: 3/24/2013


The Blade of Conan is a collection of articles reprinted for Arma, an early R. E. Howard literary review. These articles were written by the men who would have been Howard's contemporaries, had Howard lived beyond his thirty years. Howard fans are probably fans of these writers' works as well; Poul Anderson Fritz Leiber, Jerry Pournelle, L. Sprague De Camp, Lin Carter, Leigh Brackett, Marion Zimmer Bradley. Many of these articles an analysis setting of the Conan tales, as well as other lesser know Adventure, Historical, Horror and Westerns penned by Howard. Spargue De Camp contributes a brief article on Howard's adult life, later articles examine De Camp's hero; Harold Shaw of The Incomplete Enchanter series. Enjoyable and informative reading.


Brain Wave
Brain Wave
Author: Poul Anderson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/30/2010


The book made me mad. Brain Wave was Andersons first novel and he makes writing appear as childs play. The style is like other classic Sci-fi writers, Sturgeon, Van Vogt and Simack. The book actually made me sweat psychologically; I was concerned for my health and the well being of the characters in Andersons book. Brain Wave, I suppose, is a Science Fiction Psychological Thriller. Needless to say it was a good read, as good as any I've read on the 501 list. It was written in 1958 so my initial description of Animal Farm on Acid was a bit premature but it's still an illustrative description.


A Business of Ferrets
A Business of Ferrets
Author: Beth Hilgartner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/10/2011


Like most of my book acquisitions, when I requested this book from Paperback Swap, I selected it randomly. My request for A Business of Ferrets was based on the book being listed as a graphic novel but, upon receiving the book, I discovered that it is not a graphic novel but, a traditional, text novel. This caused me to question; why was this book listed as a graphic novel? Having just read A Business of Ferrets, I now have a good idea about the answer to this question.

A Business of Ferrets by Beth Hilgartner is aptly titled as it is the story of the young thief Ferret and her friends, Owl, Mouse, Squirrel, Donkey, Kitten and Sharkbait. The bond and innocence of this group of young friends is dangerously contrasted with the Council Houses of the court of the fantastic Empire of Bharaghlaf. Throughout the tale the Council Houses show how childish and irresponsible they can be.

The names of the children serve as a foil for the ultimate tone of the plot of A Business of Ferrets. Mrs. Hilgartner cleverly builds her tale in increasing steps of danger and intrigue. The children are Slum Rats and their rights as citizens of the Empire are tenuous, at best, in an Empire with no prohibition against the evils of slavery and drug distribution. Rather, these crimes are the very markets which are controlled by the Council Houses of the Empire of Bharaghlaf. Ferret and her friends become deeply and often uncomfortably involved with the Houses in the slow progress of this craftily constructed tale.

A Business of Ferrets begins without pretext but the trappings of the tale are those familiar in fantasy fiction; magic, myth, royal courts and intrigue and thieves guilds with knife fights in allies. I believe that A Business of Ferrets was listed as a graphic novel because the shocking nature of the climax of the tale which starts simply enough with a group of slum kids whove named themselves after woodland creatures.


The Castle of Llyr (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk 3)
The Castle of Llyr (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk 3)
Author: Lloyd Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 10/25/2010


Taran and his companions accompany Princess Eilonwy to the island of Mona where the princess will begin her training in courtly etiquette. Once on the island they discover that their old nemesis Achren has returned to steal Eilonwy's magical heritage. The princess is kidnapped by a member of the royal court of Mona and imprisoned by he and Achren. Taran and the companions cast about the island in search of the princess and many new adventures along the way.


Che for Beginners (For Beginners)
Che for Beginners (For Beginners)
Author: Sergio Sinay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/24/2009


This is a great quick read about the recent history of U.S. and Western Hemisphere. Images of Che Guevara have become prominent in U.S. culture but who is he? Why does the U.S. maintain a trade embargo against Cuba? The answers to both of these questions are contained in this very artistic book. Each of the 170 pages are lavishly illustrated. This book claims, Che Guevara is often confused as a Communist revolutionary but was actually a Socialist and a philosopher who left Cuba as the Communist revolution escalated. Unfortunately, I don't believe, the author did any historical research about Senor Guevara before writing this book. I am sure the biographical content has some accuracy but very little is mentioned about Che's role as the brutal military leader of the Cuban Revolution.


CHOCOLATE MOOSE
CHOCOLATE MOOSE
Author: Fred gwynne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/2/2013


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. A collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/2/2013


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. A collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/29/2013


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. It is collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/2/2013


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. It is collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


Chocolate Moose for Dinner
Chocolate Moose for Dinner
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/2/2013


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. A collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/29/2013


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. It is collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


A chocolate moose for dinner
A chocolate moose for dinner
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/29/2013


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. It is collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
A Chocolate Moose for Dinner
Author: Fred Gwynne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/29/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A Chocolate Moose for Dinner is one of those children's books with adult sensibility. It is collection of synonyms and figures of speech that could easily confuse children and drive adults "up the wall." I'm glad many of these phrases, like "arms race" and "guerrilla war" have fallen from use. Another fun read for the whole family. Thanks Mr. Gwynne!


1 to 20 of 112 - Page:
Want fewer ads?