Ellen W. (gozozma) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 90 - Page:
Acid Row
Acid Row
Author: Minette Walters
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 5/7/2006


Classic Walters thriller, enjoyed it very much.


American Playgrounds: Revitalizing Community Space
Review Date: 8/17/2006


For years, designers, educators, and community administrators have clamored for a book that will highlight the problems with contemporary playgrounds, tender sorely neded strategies with which to redress them, and stimulate national debate about today's crisis of undervalued public space. Susan Solomon's groundbreaking and marvelously illustrated AMERICAN PLAYGROUNDS is that book. since the 1970s, Solomon maintains, American playgrounds have degenerated into irrelevance as cultural artifacts and educational tools. Imbedded in Solomon's text is a frank indictment of American attitudes that are stunted by a heavy-handed emphasis on safety that limits the nature of play and the vitality of places for public assembly. A compelling history, a manifesto, and a manual for change.


Among the Isles of Shoals (Revisiting New England)
Among the Isles of Shoals (Revisiting New England)
Author: Celia L. Thaxter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Published as a book in 1873... generally considered to be Thaxter's masterpiece. New edition


Arcady (Wesleyan Poetry)
Arcady (Wesleyan Poetry)
Author: Donald Revell
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 7/31/2006


This book was published without a dust jacket.


The Art and Practice of Explosion: A Novel
The Art and Practice of Explosion: A Novel
Author: G. F. Michelsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/22/2006


A complex and rewarding literary thriller. Michelsen is an author on the cusp of breaking out into the mainstream.


Audacity, Privateer Out of Portsmouth
Audacity, Privateer Out of Portsmouth
Author: J. E. Fender
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/17/2006


Book 2 of the Frost saga


Review Date: 1/31/2007


Miss Patrick O'Brien?
Mariner, merchant, and reluctant warrior, Geoffrey Frost has entered the American Revolution on behalf of the colony of New Hampshire, commanding a captured British sloop o' war and sailing out of Portsmouth to harass the British fleet. As *Audacity* opens, he is returning from Canada following a daring rescue of American prisoners held at Louisbourg when he sails into a fog bank--and straight into a British convoy shepherded by a thirty-two-gun frigate.
In serving the American cause, Frost will impersonate a British merchant, capture several supply ships, order the execution of some of his own countrymen who have turned irate and renegade, and perform an extraordinary feat of navigation in order to restore two men to the ship of the great explorer Capt. James Cook. He will also meet the beguiling and exasperating Lady Cygnet, an opera singer, who promises to enliven and complicate Frost's life.


Becoming Cape Cod: Creating a Seaside Resort (Revisiting New England)
Review Date: 1/31/2007


A richly illustrated history of Cape Cod tourism from its bucolic origins to the presnet crisis of overdevelopment.


Beethoven Was One-Sixteenth Black: And Other Stories
Beethoven Was One-Sixteenth Black: And Other Stories
Author: Nadine Gordimer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/22/2010


great Gordimer!


Beyond the Garden Gate: The Life of Celia Laighton Thaxter
Review Date: 4/6/2006


the latest Thaxter bio


The Blunderer
The Blunderer
Author: Patricia Highsmith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Classic Highsmith.... a murderer and an innocent man caught in a psychological death spiral. Highly recommended!


Book History (Book History Annual)
Book History (Book History Annual)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/2/2006


Volume 7, 2004


Born In The U.S.A.: Bruce Springsteen And The American Tradition (Music/Culture)
Review Date: 6/12/2006


"Moving beyond the biographical and journalistic approaches of most writing on Bruce Springsteen, *Born in the U.S.A.* was the first major work of cultural criticism to situate Springsteen in the broader sweep of American history--the heir of Walt Whitman and Woody Guthrie, Abraham Lincoln and Martin Luther King."


Breath, Eyes, Memory
Breath, Eyes, Memory
Author: Edwidge Danticat
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 4/24/2006


I was fascinated by this Haitian fiction, the first I've read. A quick read, opened my eyes to a new world.


Butting Out: Reading Resistive Choreographies Through Works By Jawole Willa Jo Zollar And Chandralekha
Review Date: 8/9/2006


published without a dust jacket


By the Time You Read This (aka The Fields of Grief) (John Cardinal, Bk 4)
Review Date: 6/22/2010


*** great thriller


Cape Cod Wildflowers: A Vanishing Heritage
Cape Cod Wildflowers: A Vanishing Heritage
Author: Mario J. Digregorio, Jeff Wallner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/19/2006


The only comprehensive, Cape-specific wildflower book, back in print, with a new preface.


Center Cut (Hardscrabble Books)
Center Cut (Hardscrabble Books)
Author: John R. Corrigan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/17/2006


What Dick Francis does for horse racing, John R. Corrigan does for professional golf in his crime novels featuring Jack Austin, a native of Maine and a player on the PGA tour.

The second Jack Austin novel


Chasing Daylight: How My Forthcoming Death Transformed My Life
Chasing Daylight: How My Forthcoming Death Transformed My Life
Author: Gene O'Kelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/22/2006


(back jacket notes) On May 24, 2005, Eugene O'Kelly stepped into his doctor's office with a full calendar and a lifetime of plans on his mind. Six days later he would resign as CEO of KPMG. His lifetime of plans dwindled to 100 days, leaving him just enough time to say goodbye.
Chasing Daylight is O'Kelly's honest, touching, and ultimately inspirational memoir completed in the 3 1/2 months between his diagnosis with brain cancer and his death in September 2005. Its haunting yet extraordinarily hopeful voice reminds us to embrace the fragile, fleeting moments of our lives--the time we have with our family, our friends, and even ourselves.
It is an eloquent confirmation that our lives and the people in them are temporary joys, but the time we spend enjoying them is never lost. And if we conquer our fears--even the fear of facing the end of our lives and leaving behind those we love--we can conquer anything.


A Child's Delight
A Child's Delight
Author: Noel Perrin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/22/2006


A glorious guide to children's literature. Check out Perrin's Reader's Delight for adults too!


1 to 20 of 90 - Page: