Holly B. (bluedevilbooklover) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 72 - Page:
About the Author
About the Author
Author: John Colapinto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/2/2006


AWESOME novel!! had me going from the very beginning - i read this in 2 short sittings (well, nights before i went to sleep--and it kept me up!) really interesting idea, fabulous writing - absolutely loved it. HIGHLY recommend!


The Absence of Nectar
The Absence of Nectar
Author: Kathy Hepinstall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


excellent!! psychologically frightening as well.


At Swim, Two Boys
At Swim, Two Boys
Author: Jamie O'Neill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/24/2006
Helpful Score: 6


AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!! Absolutely wonderful, stunning, beautiful book. I'd wanted to read it for a while, but kept picking up other books first - now I wonder WHY?! It was just great. O'Neill's writing cannot be described - best words may be lyrical, beautiful, astonishing ... Of course you should not have a problem with homosexuality before reading this or you will not like this book. But if you are at all open-minded, I HIGHLY recommend that you read this. I will remember it forever.


Auriel Rising
Auriel Rising
Author: Elizabeth Redfern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/30/2006


Great book - even better than her first (The Music of the Spheres). I'm so glad to have found this British author. She writes historical novels with a lot of suspense and mystery. This one is about alchemy and is really great!


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 9/17/2006
Helpful Score: 13


This book was different, in my opinion, from Bohjalian's other works (at least those I've read - Midwives, Trans-sister Radio, Buffalo Soldier, The Law of Similars...), and at first I wasn't sure I liked it. Halfway through the book I was even thinking I might put it down. But I'm so glad I didn't - it was well worth it. Another great read from him. I do still think he's better with the shorter novels that really pack a punch, but at the same time it was great getting to know these characters a bit more intimately. Great use of different character perspectives in telling the story (although it's not one of those obvious devices like naming the chapters after the primary speaker).


Blue Water
Blue Water
Author: A. Manette Ansay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 10


This is my second book by Mansay (read "Vinegar Hill" first), and I have to say I really like her writing. She is so good at capturing emotions - REAL emotions - and the characters have such depth that you feel you really get to know them and have these vague yet somehow solid pictures of them in your mind.

This book was sad because of the tragedy that sends Meg and her husband out to sail the "blue water," but the true sadness was how they dealt - or didn't deal - with their loss. It makes one think of what on earth you would do in the face of such a tragedy. Simply hating the person who brought it on is not always so easy - nor is it very healthy.


By A Spider's Thread (Tess Monaghan, Bk 8)
By A Spider's Thread (Tess Monaghan, Bk 8)
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 1/14/2006


I love Laura Lippman - this is her 8th Tess Monaghan novel (9th total) and, although it's so cliche, she REALLY DOES get better and better with each new book!


A Certain Justice (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 10)
A Certain Justice (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 10)
Author: P. D. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 4/1/2006


my first pd james was the much more recent "Murder Room" which i loved. this was apparently an older one of hers - like 9 years old? - but really great. i love the character development and the intelligence behind her books.


Chasing the Dime
Chasing the Dime
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 7/18/2006


Good story from one of my favorite authors; different for him as there's no Harry Bosch or the usual characters and it's a really different story than usual. I enjoyed it very much.


City of Light
City of Light
Author: Lauren Belfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/7/2006


I very much enjoyed this book. Usually I guess when I read historical books, they are not about turn of the century America but rather usually overseas and more medieval! But this book, set in 1901, was really good. I wasn't sure I'd like the storyline of power stations and the book being set in Buffalo, but it worked really well and told a story I never would have known otherwise!


The Clearing
The Clearing
Author: Tim Gautreaux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is an excellent book - I went into it kind of reluctantly but was urged by a friend. It was simply amazing! Your emotions are tugged every way. There is also suspense thrown in with the fight between the two brothers and a mob boss. I highly recommend it!


Codex
Codex
Author: Lev Grossman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 8/27/2006


I really enjoyed this book - interesting and a quick read. I pretty much love any book that is about a search for an ancient book or document or something like that! (I'm definitely a bibliophile :).) That said, it's NOT as good as "The Name of the Rose" or "Possession" as some of the reviewing authors say on the back ... but at the same time, it's worth reading if you enjoy books like that.


A Confederacy of Dunces
A Confederacy of Dunces
Author: John Kennedy Toole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


phenomenal ... different ... hilariously funny and sad at the same time ... a must-read!


Crime School (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 6)
Crime School (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 6)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/10/2006


Carol O'Connell is such a different type of crime/thriller/mystery writer. I love her writing - you just fall into it, it's much more "literary" than others in her genre. This is the second one I've read (first was Judas Child, also highly recommend!), and I will definitely look for more by her. I don't think she gets the credit she deserves!


The Crippled Angel: Crucible Book 3
The Crippled Angel: Crucible Book 3
Author: Sara Douglass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/30/2005


This is the final in the series (I got mine from Australia b/c I couldn't wait for it to be printed in US!). I thought it was a great ending to the series - you don't know who really represents "good" and "evil" throughout and finally find out. Personally, being an agnostic, I found it an extremely interesting take on the origin of the Church, Bible, and church doctrine. Sara Douglass is one of my favorite new authors!


Darkness, Take My Hand (Kenzie and Gennaro, Bk 2)
Darkness, Take My Hand (Kenzie and Gennaro, Bk 2)
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 11/4/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was a really good book. I'd suggest reading the series from the beginning (this is the second; start with A Drink Before the War). I love Dennis Lehane's writing.


Deal Breaker (Myron Bolitar, Bk 1)
Deal Breaker (Myron Bolitar, Bk 1)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 8/28/2006


Personally I have only just discovered this older series (this is the first one) after devouring everything else Coben has written in the past 5-10 years ... I LOVE the humor, sarcasm, plots, characters - everything about this series! Highly recommend. I think guys will especially like these (but don't worry ladies, I don't think you'll be turned off!).


Deception
Deception
Author: Denise Mina
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great, great book. I loved this. I'm so used to reading things from a woman's point of view, or if it's a guy it's more action and not emotion. This was a fascinating look at a man wondering about and learning about his wife's actions.


Digital Fortress
Digital Fortress
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 3/14/2006


another great one by brown!


Drop Shot  (Myron Bolitar, Bk 2)
Drop Shot (Myron Bolitar, Bk 2)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 330
Review Date: 8/28/2006


Second in Myron Bolitar series... Witty, sarcastic, shocking ... I LOVE HARLAN COBEN!!


1 to 20 of 72 - Page: