Ellie (EllieW) - , - Reviews

21 to 32 of 32 - Page:
Mood Indigo
Mood Indigo
Author: Charlotte Vale Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/24/2010


I loved this novel set in 1934 Manhattan. I was almost immediately swept up into the story and became very attached to the characters. The unfolding mystery is a good one but takes second place to the wonderful ambiance of the time and people. I wished the book to never end and wish there was a sequel. I would love to re-visit Honoria and her cohorts.


Nighttime Is My Time
Nighttime Is My Time
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 9/23/2007


Another winner from Mary Higgins Clark. I kept going back and forth trying to decide the killer in this one. This author always keeps you guessing.


One Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 1)
One Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 9/23/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Great book, but have the tissues handy. I read it in less than 24 hours. This book will touch you.


The Penguin Who Knew Too Much (Meg Langslow, Bk 8)
The Penguin Who Knew Too Much (Meg Langslow, Bk 8)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/25/2007


Another fun Meg Langslow adventure. This one has her wacky family congregating once again, this time for a house warming. Unfortunately the zoo in town has just gone bankrupt, and Meg's house becomes the new home to all kinds of exotic animals. Chaos and hilarity ensue while Meg is hot on the trail of another murderer. I can't wait for the next book in the series.


The Perfect Storm : A True Story of Men Against the Sea
The Perfect Storm : A True Story of Men Against the Sea
Author: Sebastian Junger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 9/24/2007


This is a harrowing account of man versus nature at it's most terrifying. A riveting book.


Salem Falls
Salem Falls
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 921
Review Date: 5/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just finished this book and really liked it. I almost couldn't continue reading after the sexual assault charge was brought against Jack. I was so mad at the girls. But I'm glad I overcame it and finished the book. It is very engrossing. I was not surprised by the last few sentences. I had been suspicious from the beginning and just knew that was how it would play out. I strongly recommend this book.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5494
Review Date: 10/25/2007


This is a good book. It's set in the early 60's against a backdrop of civil rights, and a young girl's search for information on a mother she barely knew. The characters are the best part of the book. I loved the "month sisters" May, June, and August.
The ending left me feeling a little gypped, but all in all it was a satisfying read.


Vertical Run
Vertical Run
Author: Joseph R. Garber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 2/18/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of my favorite books. The action never ends!!


The Victory Dance Murder (Homefront Mysteries, Bk 1)
The Victory Dance Murder (Homefront Mysteries, Bk 1)
Author: M. T. Jefferson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


1st in series. This is one of my favorite books, and series, of cozy mysteries. I always hope to find that more books have been written.
I love cozies, but find that after reading so many they kind of all blur together. This series stands out in my memory.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 661
Review Date: 10/25/2007


I was not as thrilled with this book as everyone else seems to be. However, I did enjoy it and read it in two evenings. The ending was just a little too unbelievable for my tastes. I did love Rosie, though!!


What's A Ghoul to Do? (Ghost Hunter, Bk 1)
What's A Ghoul to Do? (Ghost Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 419
Review Date: 10/25/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first Victoria Laurie book I've read. It won't be the last.
I loved this book. It's fun, and entertaining, and a very quick read.
Now on to the Psychic Detective series until the next M.J. and Dr. delicious book comes out.


While My Sister Sleeps
While My Sister Sleeps
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 5/2/2010


This is the first book I've read from this author. It's a quick read and I found it very engrossing and touching. I shed a few tears but it's not overwhelmingly maudlin. I will be looking for more from Barbara Delinsky.


21 to 32 of 32 - Page: