Reviews - Jennifer O. (bookloverjenni)

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
Artistic License
Artistic License
Author: Katie Fforde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/28/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A pleasant read but I'm not sure why Katie Fforde writes so often about women who are frazzled from juggling too many responsibilities. They are always tired. Still, I enjoyed reading "Artistic License", though not as much as "Second Thyme Around"."


Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 654
Review Date: 5/13/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very enjoyable love story but here is the problem...one too many "obstacles" to the happy ending. I understand that part of building the tension in a romance novel is the obstacles which must be overcome but I think there should be a max to this device. Two or three obstacles is reasonable but "Beyond the Highland Mist" throws obstacle after obstacle at the couple; it was frustrating.

The good points of this book just barely out weight the "obstacle" problem. A wonderful her and heroine; this is a couple you want to see have a happy ending. Their love is strong and passionate. I love romances where the hero woos the reluctant heroine."


The Billionaire Affair  (Mistress To A Millionaire) (Harlequin Presents)
Review Date: 3/23/2008


"Once in awhile, I crave a silly Harlequin romance. So I picked up "The Billinaire Affaire" from the library. I had to skip over several frustrating sections, the couple keeps misunderstanding or miscommunicating their feelings; frustrating. Not great but not horrible."


Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 417
Review Date: 3/16/2006


"A bit too cutesy for my taste. I like something a bit darker and intense with more story and character development."


The Blue Castle
The Blue Castle
Author: L.M. Montgomery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 1/4/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A sweet and lovely story. A young woman finds the courage to break away from her oppressive family and seek her own adventures. Montgomery devotes many pages to beautiful descriptions of nature. She makes the reader feel she is actually hiking through a forest in winter. The love story is rushed at the end but does not detract from the book."


The Bride (Lairds' Fiancees, Bk 1)
The Bride (Lairds' Fiancees, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 5/25/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"What a wonderful surprise! I read this book as a teenager, borrowed it from a friend, and thoroughly enjoyed it. My romantic teenage mind considered a perfect romance novel. I've often thought of the story in the last 13 years but couldn't remember the title or the author. Was browsing PaperBackSwap and came across "The Bride", thought it seemed interesting and quickly requested it. I received a wonderful shock as I began reading the novel and recognized it as the lost book from my teenage memory. "The Bride" is still entertaining and holds many of the attributes I enjoy in a good historical novel; set in Ireland, handsome Irish laird, clever and talented heroine who gets into trouble but isn't stupid. This is a fun book and I'm going to request Julie Garwood's other books ASAP."


Damien (Nightwalkers, Bk 4)
Damien (Nightwalkers, Bk 4)
Author: Jacquelyn Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 1/12/2009
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"'Damien' is the best of the Nightwalker books. I enjoyed 'Jacob', was disappointed in 'Gideon', couldn't read 'Elijah,' but LOVED 'Damien'.

Jacquelyn Frank continues to build her unique world of demons, druids, vampires, lycans, mistrals and shadowdwellers. We learn more of their culture and histories as the Nightwalkers gain lost knowledge of their dependence on one another. The story might be difficult to understand without reading at least the first two books.

Damien, the Vampire Prince, rescues Syreena, the princess of the Lycans from the rogue demon Ruth. They discover their attraction to one another in the process. Many centuries old, Damien and most vampires, struggle with apathy...they've seen and done everything. But Syreena stirs new feelings in Damien and he pursues her as his mate. Syreena was raised in isolation and finds it difficult to balance the duty to the lycans with her feelings for Damien; he must convince her of the rightness of their relationship.

Damien is a vampire who knows what he wants and goes after it, although he does make some mistakes along the way. Syreena is strong but not domineering. Ms. Frank does a fantastic job of writing so that the reader can actually feel the intensity of Damien and Syreena's relationship. I experienced many splendid chills down by back while reading this book."


Dark Destiny (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 11)
Dark Destiny (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 11)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 677
Review Date: 5/25/2006


""Dark Destiny" is my first Freehan book. I enjoyed that the heroine, Destiny, was a vampire hunter and able to hold her own in a fight but was put off by the number of pages describing her inner struggles. Don't get me wrong, I appreciated a story that includes battles of the mind and heart as well as physical battles but I don't need to be told over and over and over that Destiny felt bad about her situation. The love story was overly sentimental as well. I would have enjoyed the book more if there had been a balance between the story line and the inner thoughts of the characters."


Devil in a Kilt (MacKenzie, Bk 1)
Devil in a Kilt (MacKenzie, Bk 1)
Author: Sue-Ellen Welfonder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 12/29/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I both loved and hated "Devil in a Kilt". The story included many elements that I enjoy in a historical novel; set in the Highlands, an alpha laird, a strong heroine who is sweet but strong and brings joy to the wounded heart of the laird, good love scenes. But I did not enjoy chapter 16. I was so frustrated by the stupidity of Linnet that I wanted to throw the book across the room. There were also moments throughout the book when I thought Duncan not very lairdly; letting his warriors and his friends push him around. Despite these flaws, I would recommend this book. Chapters 1 through 15 and 17 to the end are a good ole Highland romance."


Dragon's Fire (Shadow of the Dragon, Bk 2)
Dragon's Fire (Shadow of the Dragon, Bk 2)
Author: Tielle St. Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 12/10/2009


"I'm really enjoying Tielle St. Clare's "Shadow of the Dragon" series. I enjoy the need the dragons have for their mate. These are very steamy romances."


An Enchanted Season: Melting Frosty / Charlotte's Web / Beat of Temptation / Gifts of the Magi
Review Date: 12/30/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read three out of the four short stories in 'An Enchanted Season'.

I purchased the book mainly for Nalini Singh's, 'Beast of Temptation'. I love her Changeling-Psy series and didn't want to miss out on this one. Short story is not my favorite writing style but I enjoyed getting the back story of Tamsyn and Nate who are important secondary characters in the Changeling-Psy series. Tamysn has to overcome Nate's reluctance to make her his mate (he thinks he's doing the right thing since she is much younger). Tamysn does a good job of bringing Nate to his senses. I'm a sucker for a love story where the hero takes a while to realize how much he needs the heroine but once he does, nothing stands in his way.

Maggie Shayne's, 'Melting Frost' was boring. The love story came together too quickly for me; would have liked more story development

'Charlotte's Web', by Erin McCarthy was very enjoyable. Charlotte and Will are best friends. Neither is aware that they both love one another. The revelation of their feelings is a very satisfying read with some funny moments. The last chapter is a bit rushed but Erin McCarthy introduces the readers to a story about Charlotte's sister, Bee, which I hope means a sequel. This was my first Erin McCarthy story; I will be checking out some of her other stuff."


Enchanting the Lady (Relics of Merlin, Bk 1)
Enchanting the Lady (Relics of Merlin, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryne Kennedy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 4/2/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"All I can say is that "Enchanting the Lady" was delightful!"


Ever
Ever
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/7/2008


"I stopped reading after chapter 3. I have read my share of dark fantasy novels but this book gave me the creeps."


The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next, Bk 1)
The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next, Bk 1)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 1/6/2006


"A great mix of classic literature and fantasy/sci-fi. Even has a bit of paranormal mixed in. The love story is a bit limp but overall a fun and original read."


Falling for You (Pearl Island, Bk 1)
Falling for You (Pearl Island, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Ortolon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 9/10/2009


"I should never have checked this book out from the library when I read the following back description, "...Chance is content with the future that's been mapped out for him, right down to his upcoming engagement to a prim debutante enthusiastically approved by his socialite mother...". I couldn't get past the second chapter when we see that Chance is expecting to engage himself to a woman that he hasn't even been tempted to kiss. Not the type of wish-washy guy I want to read about in a romance."


Gordath Wood (Gordath Wood, Bk 1)
Gordath Wood (Gordath Wood, Bk 1)
Author: Patrice Sarath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/16/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I agree with Margaret P. Bought the book based on front cover and back description. Thought I was getting a story about Lynn Romano but story was written from the perspective of too many other characters. Sorry, but I didn't attempt to finish the book after the first chapter. Too many points of view."


Happy Hour at Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 1)
Happy Hour at Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 1)
Author: Marta Acosta
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 12/13/2008


"Happy Hour at Casa Dracula is a lovely book. It steers clear of the frenzy pace and ditzy heroine of many books in the vampire chick lit genre. I love that the main character is a gardener."


Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Bk 2)
Heart Thief (Celta's HeartMates, Bk 2)
Author: Robin D. Owens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 1/18/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"'Heart Thief' is wonderful book...much better than the first Celta's HeartMates book. I read the last page of Ruis and Ailim's story with a content sigh of pleasure.

Ruis is a thief who had his family inheritance stolen by his uncle. He struggles with anger and feels he has nothing to contribute to society until he discovers the talent for repairing and using old Celta technology.

Ailim is a fair and valued judge in the Celta law system and head of her family. She recognizes the injustice against Ruis and also sees a man worthy of love and tenderness.

'Heart Thief' is the tale of these two people overcoming the obstacles that would keep them apart.

Robin Owens' creates an interesting futuristic word with a hierarchical family culture, spaceships, talking cats, and magic or "flair". Very enjoyable."


Hidden Agendas (Tempting SEALs, Bk 4)
Hidden Agendas (Tempting SEALs, Bk 4)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 440
Review Date: 12/19/2008


"This was my first book by Lora Leigh and I'm looking forward to reading more of her work. I loved the intense relationship between Emily and Kell."


His Brother's Child
His Brother's Child
Author: Pat Ballard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/16/2009


"far fetched but very sweet"


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: