Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Lynda P. (putberg) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
The Body Sculpting Bible for Women
The Body Sculpting Bible for Women
Author: James Villepigue, Hugo A. Rivera
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/11/2011


I am an older woman who works out 5-6 days a week--two days/week with a personal trainer. I have a sizable collection of fitness books and I must say this one is one of the best ones I have seen. The exercises are easy to understand and follow. Lots of great pics to help you out. Many of the exercises are ones I pay someone to show me how to do when I train. I don't follow the books prescribed "plans". At least not yet. I do use it though to plan exercise routines I want to customize on days when I'm solo'ing in the gym or at home. I think this would be a great book for a woman of any age and any fitness level.


Brides of the West: Satin and Snakeskin / Gray Wolf's Bride / The Chances are Bride
Review Date: 9/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Three stories written by different authors all revolving around A Bride for All mail order brides. These are all old west short romance stories. The one by Michele Ann Young was the best and fairly well written. The one by Kimberly Ivey was horrible. Very sophomoric writing, not very deep and really a struggle. Here's a sample:

"Tell me everything," he prompted as his gentle fingertips stroked up and down her arms.
"I can't."
"You must."
"She drew a steadying breath as she composed her thoughts. "Very well. ...

Awful.
The final one by Billie Warren Chai had a good premise with a newly arrived mail order bride who finds her fiance was murdered befor her arrival. She realizes she inherited his property which includes a saloon and a brothel. This could make for a great story, but again, the writing was not good at all. The main character was inconsistent--weak and immature one minute then strong and confident the next. Really not well developed at all.


Carnal Deceptions
Carnal Deceptions
Author: Scottie Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/17/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This book was pleasantly surprising for me. It had a plot! The spicier scenes were not that numerous and were nicely woven into the plot. If you are looking for an Ellora's Cave type of book full of smut and no story, pass this one up. If you are fan of historical romances, this one is worth a read.


Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict
Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict
Author: Laurie Viera Rigler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 12/26/2008
Helpful Score: 4


What an odd book. I am a fan of historicals, but this was just pretty far out there. The main character seems to be a modern day girl transported back in time to the Jane Austen days. There's a romantic interest (of course), an evil mother, a kind father, a best friend, and a fortune teller. The ending left me feeling less than satisfied, but overall fit the book. I liked this book, but wouldn't reread it.


A Dangerous Beauty (Widows Club, Bk 1)
A Dangerous Beauty (Widows Club, Bk 1)
Author: Sophia Nash
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Totally enjoyed this book! The main characters were well developed. Interesting plot line and subplots running throughout. The first chapter was a bit of a whirlwind, but the rest of the book goes at a more normal pace. Make sure you have lots of time as this will keep your attention.


Dear Penelope
Dear Penelope
Author: Sharon Ihle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Lucy arrives in Emancipation, WY to meet her fiance only to find out he had called things off and was now engaged to someone else. Lucy finds work and is soon standing the town on its ear with her Dear Penelope column in the local newspaper. When her family asks her to return home, she enters into a marriage of convenience. You can probably see where this is going, but it's a pretty good, light read that will make you chuckle every now and then. Set in the late 1800s.


The Devil's Daughter
The Devil's Daughter
Author: Laura Drewry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/2/2008


Lucy Firr is the devil's daughter come back to earth at her one shot of gaining her freedom. She must bring Satan the soul of a newborn child. In order to get close to the pregnant mother, Lucy selects Jed at a wife auction to be her husband. Jed is the brother-in-law to the pregnant mother. You can probably imagine some of the main plot line.
This is a really unique scenario for a romance novel. I can't decide if the book didn't really wow me because of its uniqueness or because of the book itself. I did enjoy Ms. Drewry's Charming Jo, but the jury is still out on this one. Takes place in Redemption, TX in 1881.


For Matrimonial Purposes
For Matrimonial Purposes
Author: Kavita Daswani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/4/2012


This was a cute book. It is about a modern day woman named Anju who struggles between the western world culture and her native Indian culture. Specifically, she is feeling pressured to get married. When her parents struggle to find a suitable husband for her, she comes to the US. Interesting, eye opening book for me showing some of the Indian cultural aspects of finding a mate.


The Forgotten Orphan
The Forgotten Orphan
Author: Glynis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/10/2021


This book follows Maisie Reynolds, an orphan, during the second World War. Throughout the story, she encounters a couple of mean heads of the orphanage who do not want her to be adopted. She also had a love interest, a long lost twin brother and a few friends.
I really wanted to like this book but unfortunately it fell flat for me. There were many times where the storyline was just unbelievable. Events and character actions seemed to be forced into the story and happened at unrealistic times. For example her paratrooper boyfriend seems to be back very often during a war and she almost never knew he was coming. He'd show up at times unannounced and always when he seemed to be needed most. And then there was the time when Maisie was all of a sudden made the head of the orphanage before age 18. That's all I'll say so I don't ruin it for anyone but for me, I won't pick up anything else by this author. The writing wasn't a match for me.


From the Dust
From the Dust
Author: Ryshia Kennie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/4/2009


Tough luck story about a talented musician, Eva, and her journey from an abusive father and husband to true love. Worth a read.


Harstairs House
Harstairs House
Author: Amanda Grange
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I've read by this author, so I didn't know what to expect. The plot sounded interesting though, but it turned out to be totally different. It also ended very abruptly. No steamy scenes in here either.

The writing style was light and easy to read, but I probably won't pick up another by this author.


The Hourglass
The Hourglass
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book has a very interesting plot line. The main male character is a grim reaper at the beginning of the book. He wins a wager with the devil and is allowed to return to the living for 6 months to search for a certain hourglass that will restore his mortality. He immediately starts doing good deeds to right his many past wrongs. One of these deeds includes marrying Genie Macklin who was widowed when her husband was killed messing around.

This is a good book with a unique story line. I especially enjoyed the otherworldly gremlin returned to earth as a crow they call Olive.


Just Once (Runaways, Bk 2)
Just Once (Runaways, Bk 2)
Author: Jill Marie Landis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/18/2008


This book goes with Day Dreamer and is the story of Jemma, the rich girl who changes places with another girl to save herself from an arranged marriage. Jemma escapes with little money and runs into Hunter Boone and somehow talks him into taking her north. Jemma learns that there is more to life than money. This is a good story, but I definitely enjoyed Day Dreamer more. Set in the US in the early 1800s.


A Lady's Pleasure (Mistress Trilogy, Bk 1)
A Lady's Pleasure (Mistress Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Renee Bernard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 9/5/2007


I loved this book! The main character seems to let her inhibitions go when she masquarades as cat, only to seduce the wrong man. When he hunts her down...wow, some good smutty scenes. Good first full length novel from this author, I believe. I will definitely check out her other releases.


Lord Sin
Lord Sin
Author: Kalen Hughes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I picked up this novel because I usually like a little spice in my romance novels and the reviews led me to believe this would be a good choice. Although there were some good sex scenes in the book, I had trouble with it. The characters didn't seem to be that deep and I had trouble keeping all the other minor characters straight as to how they were related to the main characters. I about gave up halfway through, but managed to finish it off. It was an okay read, but I would probably recommend a Jo Goodman, Mary Balogh, Lisa Kleypas, or Renee Bernard book first.


Made in the U.S.A.
Made in the U.S.A.
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 6/9/2019


Lutie and her nerdy younger brother, Fate, take off for Las Vegas when their care taker dies unexpectedly. In Vegas, Lutie makes all kinds of bad decisions. There are several disturbing things described associated with the kids trying to survive in Las Vegas. I really disliked Lutie and didn't even want to finish the book. It was pretty depressing. I stuck it out though and the second half of the book got a little better but not enough to make me want to read anything else by this author.


Mail-Order Bride (Avon Romance)
Mail-Order Bride (Avon Romance)
Author: Maureen McKade
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I am a huge Maureen McKade fan and also a huge historical American romance fan. What I liked best about this particular book by Ms. McKade was that instead of cowboys, it is based on mining. Excellent read!


Mail Order Husband
Mail Order Husband
Author: Lauri Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


After Penny's father dies and trouble starts bubbling up around her ranch, she decides to have her friend make good on her offer to send her a husband. Her friend delivers her brother-in-law, a recent widower who does not want to get married again.

This story takes place in the Dakota Territories in 1872.

This has a cute plot line with some intrigue and fairly well developed characters. The problem is that apparently no one proofread this book before publishing!!! Shame on the publisher for letting this go to press like this. There are so many that it distracts from the story and leaves you feeling frustrated.


Mail-Order Man (Zebra Lovegram Historical Romance)
Mail-Order Man (Zebra Lovegram Historical Romance)
Author: Martha Hix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/3/2009


Couldn't make it through this book--it just seemed to drag on and on. I didn't like either of the main characters. I am a big fan of historical western romances, but this one is not a keeper.


A Moment in Time
A Moment in Time
Author: Deb Stover
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Very cute time travel romance. Jackie gets caught in a Colorado mountain snowstorm after being stranded by her loser lover. She falls back in time through a painting and is mistaken for Lolita Belle. Cole Morrison is a wanna be miner, widowed, with a son. He kidnaps her thinking she is Lolita. They fall in love. Assuming she can figure a way back to modern times, should she stay with Cole and his son and the very lovable character, Chief Byron? Or should she return to the modern world and all of its conveniences? Very good book!


1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
Want fewer ads?