Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Aileene - , - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Aerie (Dragon Jousters, Bk 4)
Aerie (Dragon Jousters, Bk 4)
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 11/5/2009


I enjoyed the entire series, not just for the dragons and desert/pseudo-Egyptian setting, but because it was different from her Heralds series.

You can tell that she has done her research into large birds of prey and translated that over into this series. I like that the dragons/series weren't given the same personality/plot as the Heralds.

The conclusion left me wanting a bit more for stories in this world, not because it was left undone, but because the world was hard to leave.

Saying all that, as much as I loved her take on Dragons and this world, it isn't a book or series I feel that I will read again.

My books on this series are like new, only read once. I tried to get my boys (12 year old twins) interested, but they are more into Percy Jackson and Alex Rider at the moment. (when they don't want to write their own stories lol)

--Aileene


Alta (Dragon Jousters, Bk 2)
Alta (Dragon Jousters, Bk 2)
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 11/5/2009


Although I did enjoy the first book, this one was a bit better, as it was more action packed with Vetch finally out of serfdom and back in his own country.

I enjoyed the political intrigue in this story and how they made it so that even though Vetch is home, things are still unfinished and it isn't just the other country causing the problems.

--Aileene


The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Book 3)
The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Book 3)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Unlike other reviewers I found this entire series to be a fun, entertaining fantasy.

I know there are those who are practically screaming about atheism and 'killing god' and what have you, but I found it to be more of an intriguing take on religion and the effect that they have on society/cultures.

My children read this series (twin boys, 12 and daughter, 9) with me and we were all holding are breath at many parts, rooting for the characters and feeling sad/teary (of course the twins didn't get teary :P) at different parts, so I would say the author did an excellent job of pulling us into the story and none of my children (nor myself) felt that it had any bearing on our relationship with God as it was 'just a story and pretend' (those are the words of my children; paraphrased from the three of them)

I would recommend this book (and series) to anyone (old or young) who is looking for an exciting, fantastical romp. It does have underlying messages about society and politics (I found it more about the politics of religion over anything else.)

Enjoy
--Aileene


Angels Fall
Angels Fall
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 612
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I guess this is yet another book I differ with most reviewers on lol.

I usually love anything written by NR/JDR, and although I loved the 'scenery' of this book and wish to visit this area, I just didn't like the story itself. The characters didn't mesh for me and though it was a mystery, I knew 'whodunit' somewhere in the first or second chapter.

This felt very out of sync with the normal level of writing I expect from a Nora Roberts book. I understand that her stand-alone and her series/trilogies often differ in style, which is one thing I like about her writing since she is such a prolific writer. I rarely if ever get a deja'vu sense when I read her books back to back, but with this one I did. I felt I had read this plot/story from her before and it was written much better in the past.

Saying this I realize I will probably never get this off my shelf lol, but take my review with a grain of salt, as I have read so many reviews praising this book. I'm sorry to say this just didn't do it for me.

--Aileene


Another Fine Myth / Myth Conceptions (Myth Adventures, Bks 1-2)
Another Fine Myth / Myth Conceptions (Myth Adventures, Bks 1-2)
Author: Robert Asprin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


These are the first two books in Asprin's Myth series, a favorite of my husband. Since I finagle him into reading quite a few recommendations from me I decided to give this a try.

Both stories were very enjoyable, I love the satirical/punny take on the fantasy genre as a whole. Some of their device's are repeated from one book to the next, but it wasn't anything out of the ordinary for series writing.

These were fun, quick reads with an entertaining take on the fantasy world, wizards, demons, dragons and the like.

I recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy and humor together. These definitely are not for someone who looks to dark fantasy/horror/romance as their favorite genres though :) but it makes for a humorous read and a way to almost cleanse the palate if you move between many genres like I tend to do.

--Aileene
p.s. And bonus, its two books in one...I am ever the bargain hunter and love a two for one deal lol.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 319
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


After reading so many reviews about this series I really wanted to like it and I just didn't.

My sons (12 year old twins) didn't care for the book either, they couldn't really articulate why, except to say that they didn't like it.

For me, I just didn't find any of the characters my cup of tea. I read a lot of YA/Teen books because of my kids (I like to know what they are reading, we don't censor, but we like to be able to discuss the books they are reading or address questions that may come up so we read what they do) and I enjoy many of the books in these categories; Alex Rider, Percy Jackson, the Gatekeeper series by Horowitz, among others.

This book just didn't give me characters I could relate to, like or even care about and I am disappointed since from other reviews it seemed like such a promising (and long) series to read.

--Aileene


Blood Blade (Skinners, Bk 1)
Blood Blade (Skinners, Bk 1)
Author: Marcus Pelegrimas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Here is another book I wanted to like. The premise was excellent and it even started off exciting and urban fantasy is a new genre that I have been falling in love with.

I think that this book would (and from reviews at other places, does,) be well liked by many other readers of urban fantasy. I just couldn't quite get into the rhythm of it. There was a lot of information to get out and characters to introduce, as it seems to be the beginning of a series, so perhaps the next books will be better for me. I may try the second book at some point, but I probably will be borrowing over buying if I do.

Interesting take on vampires and other supernaturals and I wish I could say I loved it (it would move from my shelf faster I am sure lol) but it just didn't grabbed me like I had hoped.

--Aileene


Bloodline (Wings in the Night, Bk 16)
Bloodline (Wings in the Night, Bk 16)
Author: Maggie Shayne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I love love love, Maggie Shayne's WotN series (Wings of the Night) but these last few have turned a corner somewhere. They seem to be missing the magic that was in the in first few books I read (the first 5-8 books I believe)

The premise was good here, but the execution left a bit to be desired. The romance wasn't what I am used to from her, not enough of something (chemistry, fire, romance) for me.

I like the idea of the secret goverment compound and I think it can add a great new path for the WotN series, I just hope the next books are better than this one. Also I miss seeing the 'old guard' there was a brief walk on for a few at the end, but I would love to see more of Roland, Rhiannon, Eric, Jamie, Angel, Amber, Edge and the kids.

This should appeal to those who enjoy her Mordecai/cult mystery type series, it seemed written more along those lines than the original WoTN.

--Aileene


Blue Twilight (Wings in the Night, Bk 11)
Blue Twilight (Wings in the Night, Bk 11)
Author: Maggie Shayne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 11/5/2009


It was nice to finally get Max and Lou's story here. It was a bit different than the original WoTN books, but consistent in the way the series has been shaping up to this point.

I love that she is bringing in more characters than simply Vampire, Chosen and 'Bad Guys' it is really rounding out the world for me.

This book was well done, but I do wish for more interaction with the others (the original characters) but that is just a personal foible :)

--Aileene


Dangerous Tides (Drake Sisters, Bk 4)
Dangerous Tides (Drake Sisters, Bk 4)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 654
Review Date: 11/5/2009


A good and true to the story continuation of the series.

I enjoyed this one and the exploration of Libby's power, as she was the most intriguing on to me from the beginning (outside Elle of course)

I think this was well done and I have enjoyed this series from beginning to end, it was different enough from her Carpathians that, while she definitely has a thing for the Alpha male, the men weren't quite as grating as her Carpathian men tend to get when I read those books back to back. (don't get me wrong, I love the Carpathians, but that get to be a bit much if I don't take a break between books lol)

Anyway the differences in the series' are what made it easy to read the Drake Sisters one right after another.

--Aileene


Dies the Fire (Change, Bk 1) (Emberverse, Bk 1)
Dies the Fire (Change, Bk 1) (Emberverse, Bk 1)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 11/5/2009


I really liked this book, though as a previous reviewer I read somewhere said, the characters are little 'too likable' in that everyone wants to follow them and they 'know' exactly what to do.

That said, I enjoyed the story, even while it scared the crap out of me. It was written in a very realistic style for how our world would fall apart should such an event happen. There would probably be people who thrived, people who died right away (or more slowly and terribly) there would be people who would lose what we would call 'civilized humanity' and others who would become purely animalistic as well as cannibalistic.

I found the story (and the future books as well) fun, scary, intriguing and practically 'unputdownable' They do throw in a bit of paranormal 'woo-woo' (lol) with the witch/wicca side that caused me to pause a bit,

but if I could suspend my disbelief for something that knocks out all technology (including gunpowder) in a single instance, it isn't far to suspend that suspension into the fact that other (and more physical) manifestations of 'powers' might grow...thankfully nobody every threw a fireball with their hands or anything.

Stirling kept it very much in the realm of possibility even if not probability and that is what made for a very scary read.

--Aileene


The Fallen
The Fallen
Author: Thomas E. Sniegoski
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The story and idea itself were intriguing enough for me to pick it up and read. I enjoy other books by this same author and the mini-series/tv movies were neat enough, for what they were, that I had to give the book a try.

I thought they did a decent job of not having the kid, Aaron, get smacked up the head by his 'specialness' and then just accepting it or getting super super angsty about it. They kept it relatively in the believable zone, at least for me.

I won't spoil the book, but there were a couple plot holes? pinpricks? that didn't get smoothed out very well or at all.

It was an entertaining light read (and by light I don't mean fluffy or w/o shock/pain/ick factors btw, I simply mean it is a book I finished in a little over an hour)

I am still quibbling over getting the second in the series, but there was enough in the first book to keep me interested that I probably will.

happy reading,
--Aileene


Inked: Skin Deep / Armor of Roses / Etched in Silver / Human Nature
Review Date: 3/5/2010


I really like the Hunter Kiss series so far and her short stories are pretty good as well, usually short stories of 'full book' type series feel a little too rushed for me. This one was everything I wanted it to be and more. Was a real treat, but I really can't wait for the next full length novel.

The Sisters of the Otherworld one was interesting and I think she made a smart decision making it a 'past' story, rather than trying to continue the current story line arc/arcs in the series in a shorter format. Explained a bit more about the connection between Camille and Trillion...though I wish she had a bit more than just 'sexual attraction' in the relationships she creates (the author, not the characters) don't get me wrong, she writes the 'sex stuff' well, but I wouldn't mind a bit more actual 'feelings' you know? This gave a bit more of the feeling aspect, but it did get overshadowed by the sex, but if you like her SotO series, you'll enjoy this.

The first one was by an author and a series I am unfamiliar with (Karen Chance's "Skin Deep"), but I liked the humor, characters, etc. and I'm interested to see if there are more in the series, but I have to say that one did feel kind of rushed to me and slightly unfinished. (Then again it did its job by making me want to search out more of her work)

The last story,(Eileen Wilks's "Human Nature")...I am still not sure if I 'liked' it...I didn't 'not like it' if that makes any sense. I may have to see about renting a few books in that series to see if they stick, but I don't think I would buy any right now, not unless they were practically free. I think you might have to 'know' the series a bit better to get all the aspects of the story.

Hopefully I managed to convey how much I liked the book and why w/o giving away or 'spoiling' it for anyone else.

--Aileene


Queen Isabella: Treachery, Adultery, and Murder in Medieval England
Queen Isabella: Treachery, Adultery, and Murder in Medieval England
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/5/2009


I have to agree totally with the review below. The only part that my husband and I found a bit tedious(and more him, than myself tbh) was when they began listing what was in their larder/pantry and how many candles/linens/etc. they bought for such and such castle, simply because it was a list that Isabella was supposed to have written or edited or simply, possibly touched/looked at. Once those parts (which were mildly intriguing the first couple of times) were over--these were relatively few and far between--the story itself was entertaining and even though I know the story, I found myself feeling tension at parts were I knew the outcome and even hoping so and so would or would not die/live/speak lol.

The narrator did an excellent job of bringing the words alive so that it didn't feel as if the book was being read to you. I don't read/listen to many audio books, but if I was looking for another I would definitely look for this narrator to see if she was available in other works.

The Washington Post - Lisa Jardine

Isabella emerges in this biography as a politically deft and intelligent protagonist, competent to intervene effectively in affairs of state. Weir makes a strong case for the historical importance of Isabella's decision to seize the English throne for her son, as the country slipped into chaos under her increasingly feckless husband's inadequate command. Though she cannot alter the record to make Isabella good and admirable, she does succeed in giving us an utterly compelling, gripping and believable portrait of a formidable medieval queen.


Snow What Fun
Snow What Fun
Author: Cheryl Hawkinson, Mike Esberg (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/27/2009


This was a fun and cute winter story. It kept both of my youngest children (9 years & 15 months at the time) entertained and if we didn't have a second copy it would be kept on our shelf for future generations.

The illustrations are beautiful and well done, with a story that may be a simple idea but it keeps children enthralled.

Definitely a keeper.


1 to 15 of 15
Want fewer ads?